PCem 13 first impressions

Support and general discussion.
Post Reply
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 629
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

PCem 13 first impressions

Post by omarsis81 » Tue 12 Dec, 2017 1:13 am

I only spent 15 minutes with it, but overall I really like the new changes!
However, what I found most annoying was the rescaling, the resize option with the 4:3 enabled. No matter what option I switch, I can't remove the black bars. In PCem 12 this never happened, resizing was perfect!

Sure, I can choose a custom resolution and no black bars, the problem is when resizing

And one minor thing I noted, in the PCem Machine, is the machine name is too long it overlaps with the leds, maybe they should be a tad higher
Attachments
misc.jpg
misc.jpg (35.95 KiB) Viewed 1535 times
Screenshot from 2017-12-11 21-51-52.jpg
Screenshot from 2017-12-11 21-51-52.jpg (82.51 KiB) Viewed 1535 times
Screenshot from 2017-12-11 21-51-44.jpg
Screenshot from 2017-12-11 21-51-44.jpg (100.88 KiB) Viewed 1535 times

User avatar
gen_angry
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat 25 Feb, 2017 6:48 am

Re: PCem 13 first impressions

Post by gen_angry » Tue 12 Dec, 2017 1:46 am

I especially like the new config manager, no more messing with batch files.

With this config manager, does that mean that BIOS settings are unique to the machine too? As in, I can build two completely separate machines with the 430VX chipset?

User avatar
leilei
Posts: 581
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: PCem 13 first impressions

Post by leilei » Tue 12 Dec, 2017 1:50 am

Yep. That's nice because I have like 59 configs I use for testing, they're mostly SiS496/430VXs with different HDDs and they all need to boot fast.

User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 629
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: PCem 13 first impressions

Post by omarsis81 » Tue 12 Dec, 2017 4:23 pm

Those black bars when resizeing using integrated Intel graphics, now I'm testing using an nVidia card and when I hold the mouse button while resizeing there is a gray background. In PCem 12 you see in real time how the image would look like, much, much better imo

The gray background occurs with all renderers: soft, d3d, opengl
Attachments
pcem13.jpg
pcem13.jpg (60.71 KiB) Viewed 1434 times

neozeed
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue 08 Jul, 2014 4:41 am
Location: Hong Kong SAR
Contact:

Re: PCem 13 first impressions

Post by neozeed » Tue 12 Dec, 2017 6:00 pm

I've got to say, so far I'm really liking it!

JosepMa
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue 20 Jun, 2017 6:25 pm

Re: PCem 13 first impressions

Post by JosepMa » Tue 12 Dec, 2017 7:46 pm

omarsis81: I suggest you to try the openGL (either the normal, or the GL3) video modes instead of the older ones.
Then, use the scale filtering, output-stretch mode and maybe even the output scale options from the Video menu.

User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 629
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: PCem 13 first impressions

Post by omarsis81 » Tue 12 Dec, 2017 11:56 pm

JosepMa wrote:omarsis81: I suggest you to try the openGL (either the normal, or the GL3) video modes instead of the older ones.
Then, use the scale filtering, output-stretch mode and maybe even the output scale options from the Video menu.
I tried every mode and option available.
I don't know why, but manual resize has gone a step backward :(

User avatar
leilei
Posts: 581
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: PCem 13 first impressions

Post by leilei » Wed 13 Dec, 2017 12:06 am

I don't have stretching issues. Not seeing live resizing isn't really a big issue for me (and isn't the most trivial thing to implement across all backends either)

AnnaWu
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon 12 May, 2014 6:10 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PCem 13 first impressions

Post by AnnaWu » Wed 13 Dec, 2017 8:23 am

I have problems with the last official 13 version.
Is the Toshiba T3100e patch (JohnElliott) working?
It works for me with the unofficial versions.

Katakis
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu 05 Mar, 2015 6:42 am

Re: PCem 13 first impressions

Post by Katakis » Wed 13 Dec, 2017 10:05 am

No problems here. The new GUI is quite impressive.

AnnaWu
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon 12 May, 2014 6:10 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PCem 13 first impressions

Post by AnnaWu » Wed 13 Dec, 2017 12:06 pm

To avoid misunderstandigs, basically I have no problems too, except to run the Toshiba T3100e.

szadycbr
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon 21 Nov, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: PCem 13 first impressions

Post by szadycbr » Wed 13 Dec, 2017 3:56 pm

i have now windows 10 64bit and v13 works much better than linux version, however the 3dMark99 work on voodoo only if cpu and gpu recompiler is off.
(using 430vx and i dont think changing board will make a difference)

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1568
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: PCem 13 first impressions

Post by SarahWalker » Wed 13 Dec, 2017 6:34 pm

Toshiba T3100e is indeed broken in the released binary. It looks like a bug introduced by GCC's profile feedback optimisation - compiling the same source without -fprofile-* doesn't show the bug. I'll try to put a fixed binary out at the weekend - I don't have the energy for it right now.

User avatar
gen_angry
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat 25 Feb, 2017 6:48 am

Re: PCem 13 first impressions

Post by gen_angry » Thu 14 Dec, 2017 4:57 am

Messed with the win95 machine to add the SLI (and increased texture size), tried q3a timedemo again. Gained a bit of FPS even using a 233MMX. :)

I really do like the additions, especially the separate BIOS files. :) Thank you Sarah for the update.

User avatar
leilei
Posts: 581
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: PCem 13 first impressions

Post by leilei » Thu 14 Dec, 2017 6:32 am

V2 SLI unfortunately doesn't help Q3's texture thrashing all that much. r_picmip 1 is still advised.

The next step up (Voodoo Banshee 16MB) would be far better for Q3 at r_picmip 0

Another note on the V2 SLI is that it dioesn't implement the screen filter at 1024x768 so there shouldn't be any performance worries with leaving screen filter checked on (as the code reads from a register to see if this is enabled). (Banshee and V3 does have a filter for 1024x768 however)

AnnaWu
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon 12 May, 2014 6:10 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PCem 13 first impressions

Post by AnnaWu » Thu 14 Dec, 2017 1:07 pm

SarahWalker wrote:Toshiba T3100e is indeed broken in the released binary. It looks like a bug introduced by GCC's profile feedback optimisation - compiling the same source without -fprofile-* doesn't show the bug. I'll try to put a fixed binary out at the weekend - I don't have the energy for it right now.
Thank you Sarah to take care about it. :)

Post Reply