Tandy Sound Issue

Support and general discussion.
Post Reply
User avatar
Chilly Willy
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue 12 Dec, 2017 1:16 am
Contact:

Tandy Sound Issue

Post by Chilly Willy » Wed 13 Dec, 2017 9:44 pm

Using a Tandy 1000 HX rom. The sound is fine for games that use a "pc speaker" sound such as California Games. When you play a Sierra game like King's Quest, the sound is really slowed down to a point it sounds like a record being played backwards. Tried playing with the audio buffer but that didn't help. Hopefully there can be an optimization for the sound?

Thanks!

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1542
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by SarahWalker » Wed 13 Dec, 2017 10:05 pm

Seems okay here. What specs does your host machine have? Could you post both the pcem.cfg file and the config you are using for the Tandy?

User avatar
Chilly Willy
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue 12 Dec, 2017 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by Chilly Willy » Wed 13 Dec, 2017 10:49 pm

I will post the config files once I get back to that pc. On my Mac now. The Tandy emulation sound is fine in DOSBox and ScummVM but here's my pc specs...

XP SP3
AMD 4000+ 64 (2.4 GHz)
1 GB Memory (DDR 333 MHz)
Nvidia 720 GT
M-Audio Revolution 5.1 (Default audio card)
Yamaha YMF724 (Audio line out and into the M-Audio line in.) I use the synthesizer in this for old games. (Default midi card)

bloodbat
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu 10 Mar, 2016 4:36 am

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by bloodbat » Thu 14 Dec, 2017 9:57 am

I'm having the same issue, to be more specific: King's Quest 1 works fine for me, but King's Quest 2 and 3 exhibit the sound issue, I posted about it a while ago.
The host machine is an AMD Phenom II 1090T, 8Gb. Ram, Win. 7, Nvidia Geforce GTX 750 Ti with 2 Gb. Vram and sound is output through a Sound Blaster X-Fi Fataility Champion.
The .cfg files are attached...
Attachments
cfgs.zip
(1.3 KiB) Downloaded 20 times

User avatar
Chilly Willy
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue 12 Dec, 2017 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by Chilly Willy » Thu 14 Dec, 2017 12:39 pm

That's interesting. I'm having the same problems with II and III. I just played King's Quest IV last night just fine. Even a Sierra Christmas 1988 demo played fine. Hmm...

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1542
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by SarahWalker » Thu 14 Dec, 2017 6:23 pm

I've found a bug which causes the KQ3 sound to be far too low pitched. Still can't reproduce any issues with KQ2 though - could one of you record a section of bad audio and post it here?

User avatar
Chilly Willy
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue 12 Dec, 2017 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by Chilly Willy » Thu 14 Dec, 2017 9:57 pm

Here's an audio clip of King's Quest II intro...
http://www.posemotion.com/audio/KQII_Audio.mp3

bloodbat
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu 10 Mar, 2016 4:36 am

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by bloodbat » Thu 14 Dec, 2017 9:59 pm

The fix for KQ3 fixed the music for KQ2 also; the waves in KQ2's first screen still sound off, though, here's a couple of clips one recorded using PCem, the other DosBox.
Thanks for the time taken trying to fix this :)
Attachments
kq2waves.zip
(77.63 KiB) Downloaded 18 times

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1542
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by SarahWalker » Thu 14 Dec, 2017 10:10 pm

Fixed in rev 981.

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1542
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by SarahWalker » Thu 14 Dec, 2017 10:12 pm

Chilly Willy wrote:Here's an audio clip of King's Quest II intro...
http://www.posemotion.com/audio/KQII_Audio.mp3
That's the same low pitch problem I was hearing in KQ3 - your version of KQ2 must be using the same code. That's now fixed and will be in the point release I'm doing this weekend.

bloodbat
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu 10 Mar, 2016 4:36 am

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by bloodbat » Thu 14 Dec, 2017 10:33 pm

Thanks, rev. 981 fixed the waves indeed :)

User avatar
Chilly Willy
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue 12 Dec, 2017 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by Chilly Willy » Thu 14 Dec, 2017 10:57 pm

SarahWalker wrote: That's the same low pitch problem I was hearing in KQ3 - your version of KQ2 must be using the same code. That's now fixed and will be in the point release I'm doing this weekend.
Thanks! ;)

That version came from the Roberta Williams Anthology.

User avatar
Chilly Willy
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue 12 Dec, 2017 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by Chilly Willy » Mon 18 Dec, 2017 7:20 am

Just got around to testing the new version. I can actually hear the notes now but it still has issues. Sounds like it is not being buffered enough or something. Scratching/digital sounding artifacts.

EDIT: King's Quest IV (AGI) also does it now. Maybe a timing issue?

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1542
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by SarahWalker » Mon 18 Dec, 2017 6:10 pm

Maybe play with the sound buffer length, see if changing that has any impact?

User avatar
Chilly Willy
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue 12 Dec, 2017 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by Chilly Willy » Mon 18 Dec, 2017 6:20 pm

SarahWalker wrote:Maybe play with the sound buffer length, see if changing that has any impact?
I tried that already but thanks. I even tried making it 800 in the PCem config file. Sorry can not remember the file's name but I'm sure you know which one I'm talking about.

User avatar
Chilly Willy
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue 12 Dec, 2017 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by Chilly Willy » Mon 18 Dec, 2017 7:49 pm

Here's an audio sample of what it sounds like now.
http://www.posemotion.com/audio/KQ2_Intro.mp3

User avatar
Chilly Willy
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue 12 Dec, 2017 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Tandy Sound Issue

Post by Chilly Willy » Mon 04 Jun, 2018 6:39 pm

Still have sound issues in v14 and the mda.rom file is missing.

Post Reply