Any way to change FSB in Pcem?

Support and general discussion.
Post Reply
ovctvct
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed 28 Oct, 2015 3:07 pm

Any way to change FSB in Pcem?

Post by ovctvct » Fri 30 Oct, 2015 12:27 pm

I couldn't find a way to change FSB clock to allow CPU underclock or overclock in pcem, yes, I am using v10,any ideas?

neozeed
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue 08 Jul, 2014 4:41 am
Location: Hong Kong SAR
Contact:

Re: Any way to change FSB in Pcem?

Post by neozeed » Fri 30 Oct, 2015 1:53 pm

ovctvct wrote:I couldn't find a way to change FSB clock to allow CPU underclock or overclock in pcem, yes, I am using v10,any ideas?
I've done it in source to have a pentium "underdrive" clocked around 40mhz and 20mhz

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1714
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Any way to change FSB in Pcem?

Post by SarahWalker » Fri 30 Oct, 2015 7:57 pm

What are you trying to achieve here? PCem doesn't really emulate an FSB that would have much effect on performance in general.

ovctvct
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed 28 Oct, 2015 3:07 pm

Re: Any way to change FSB in Pcem?

Post by ovctvct » Sun 01 Nov, 2015 5:06 pm

neozeed wrote:
ovctvct wrote:I couldn't find a way to change FSB clock to allow CPU underclock or overclock in pcem, yes, I am using v10,any ideas?
I've done it in source to have a pentium "underdrive" clocked around 40mhz and 20mhz
How exactly? EDIT: I found it myself.

Battler
Posts: 793
Joined: Sun 06 Jul, 2014 7:05 pm

Re: Any way to change FSB in Pcem?

Post by Battler » Mon 02 Nov, 2015 2:30 pm

PCem has no way to underclock a CPU, PCem-X, however, now has a Turbo option which is enabled by default and halves the clock speed when disabled (so you can run a Pentium 75 at 37.5 MHz for example).

ovctvct
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed 28 Oct, 2015 3:07 pm

Re: Any way to change FSB in Pcem?

Post by ovctvct » Mon 02 Nov, 2015 4:15 pm

Success! I edited the Pcem-x source code(the cpu.c file to be exact) to get an Overdrive at 25 MHz!
25mhzoverdrive.png
25mhzoverdrive.png (48.05 KiB) Viewed 2564 times

Battler
Posts: 793
Joined: Sun 06 Jul, 2014 7:05 pm

Re: Any way to change FSB in Pcem?

Post by Battler » Mon 02 Nov, 2015 4:20 pm

And again, why are you discussing PCem-X on the PCem forum?

Post Reply