[Q] Roland SC-55/SC-88 emulation?

Support and general discussion.
Post Reply
iwasaperson
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun 02 Nov, 2014 12:48 am

[Q] Roland SC-55/SC-88 emulation?

Post by iwasaperson » Sun 15 Nov, 2015 6:48 am

Is it even possible? What would it take? Do we have ROM dumps?

I think every DOS gamer knows that the SC-88 is the MIDI device to have for old school games. Will there ever be support for it in PCem?

User avatar
leilei
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: [Q] Roland SC-55/SC-88 emulation?

Post by leilei » Sun 15 Nov, 2015 7:23 am

External MIDI modules would be outside the scope quite frankly, and would be overkill to have emulation of them within. and then there's the whole rom dumping thing and the fact there were legal troubles there was in the past for MUNT with its MT32 emulation

You're best off having a something rather SC-sounding synthesizer configurated as your host's midi device, or maybe even hooking up a real one (never tried as I don't have a real one to speak of). Because MIDI standards are nice

User avatar
commander_keen
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun 18 Oct, 2015 11:33 pm

Re: [Q] Roland SC-55/SC-88 emulation?

Post by commander_keen » Sun 15 Nov, 2015 3:13 pm

1. This would require dumping of wavetable roms and PROMs, which could be taken down because of legal issues.
2. This would require LLE emulation of the 2 CPUs on the machine.

I don't think Tom would be able to stand up to this one.

t9999clint
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon 02 Nov, 2015 2:09 am
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Contact:

Re: [Q] Roland SC-55/SC-88 emulation?

Post by t9999clint » Mon 16 Nov, 2015 1:40 am

I think it would be cool to add lots of options for Midi emulation to the emulator, but I don't think something as epic of a project as SC-55 emulation should be taken so lightly as to be just a add-in feature to PC-em.
I think something like that would be better accomplished by a different team like the Munt guys.

Alegend45
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat 26 Apr, 2014 4:33 am

Re: [Q] Roland SC-55/SC-88 emulation?

Post by Alegend45 » Mon 16 Nov, 2015 7:51 pm

leilei wrote:External MIDI modules would be outside the scope quite frankly, and would be overkill to have emulation of them within. and then there's the whole rom dumping thing and the fact there were legal troubles there was in the past for MUNT with its MT32 emulation

You're best off having a something rather SC-sounding synthesizer configurated as your host's midi device, or maybe even hooking up a real one (never tried as I don't have a real one to speak of). Because MIDI standards are nice
MAME has LLE MT32 emulation, which no other emulator has, so...

iwasaperson
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun 02 Nov, 2014 12:48 am

Re: [Q] Roland SC-55/SC-88 emulation?

Post by iwasaperson » Tue 17 Nov, 2015 10:34 pm

He could always leave the ROM dumping to someone else and not distribute it, like many emulators do with their respective BIOS.

I am planning on getting an SC-8850 sometime in the future anyway, so It's not a huge deal to me.

t9999clint
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon 02 Nov, 2015 2:09 am
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Contact:

Re: [Q] Roland SC-55/SC-88 emulation?

Post by t9999clint » Mon 30 Nov, 2015 8:30 pm

I managed to get something similar to sc-55 sound using coolsoft virtualmidisynth and a sc-55 soundfont.
Soundfont - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bgy81YeZ-JQ
VirtualMIDIsynth - http://coolsoft.altervista.org/en/virtualmidisynth

I'm still getting weird issues with games like Tyrian, but It's probably something with my setup. This is also what I use with my real DOS compy with a midi 2 USB adapter so that I can use my i7 to do the MIDI stuff.

User avatar
FredPJ
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue 15 Sep, 2015 1:55 pm

Re: [Q] Roland SC-55/SC-88 emulation?

Post by FredPJ » Sun 03 Jan, 2016 6:34 pm

Just to give you a heads up: Roland very recently released the Sound Canvas VA Software Synthesizer VSTi, which sounds pretty much just like a hardware SC-55 or SC-88. http://www.roland.com/products/sound_canvas_va
Image

The good news is that it's possible to use the Roland Sound Canvas VA with PCem (using loopMIDI and SAVIHost). I've been using it and it sounds amazing!
Image

t9999clint
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon 02 Nov, 2015 2:09 am
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Contact:

Re: [Q] Roland SC-55/SC-88 emulation?

Post by t9999clint » Mon 04 Jan, 2016 12:46 am

Nice tip!
It's almost worth the $125 for the commercial licence.
I just might buy this.

Post Reply