Intel Graphics

Support and general discussion.
Post Reply
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Intel Graphics

Post by omarsis81 »

Does PCem work with Intel HD Graphics? Or should I have a dedicated 3d graphics card? i.e. nvidia or ati
amadama
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon 25 Aug, 2014 9:47 pm

Re: Intel Graphics

Post by amadama »

It works with Intel just fine.
User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 2014
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Intel Graphics

Post by SarahWalker »

PCem should work with just about anything - it's not using any real 3D features or anything.
startmenu
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat 29 Nov, 2014 7:39 am

Re: Intel Graphics

Post by startmenu »

Yep, the emulator no longer crashes on Intel HD Graphics. However it seems the performance under Direct3D output mode is even lower than that under DirectDraw output mode.
User avatar
leilei
Posts: 904
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: Intel Graphics

Post by leilei »

Then don't use that?

The Direct3D mode is only really practical for three things:
- some video recording apps that love the d3d api
- some video chipsets that can't filter directdraw (such as those from ATI/AMD)
- hlsl....if i bothered to figure that out for the 3dfx filter :( though intel hd is actually quite good with HLSL.
User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 2014
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Intel Graphics

Post by SarahWalker »

Direct3D also seems to be quite a bit faster than DirectDraw on ATI/AMD cards, or at least the one I have. They're about equal performance on GeForces, and as startmenu has discovered DirectDraw is faster on Intel graphics.
Battler
Posts: 793
Joined: Sun 06 Jul, 2014 7:05 pm

Re: Intel Graphics

Post by Battler »

SarahWalker wrote:Direct3D also seems to be quite a bit faster than DirectDraw on ATI/AMD cards,
Not on mine (AMD Radeon HD 5450) where I often get 10% less in PCem when using Direct3D compared to DirectDraw. So at least on older low-end AMD cards, DirectDraw is definitely faster.
Post Reply