Development screenshots

Discussion of development and patch submission.
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1327
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Development screenshots

Postby SarahWalker » Sat 12 Aug, 2017 12:35 pm

Can you guess what's going on here? (other than JPEG artifacts obviously)
pcem_mystery.jpg
pcem_mystery.jpg (166.19 KiB) Viewed 1021 times
User avatar
leilei
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: Development screenshots

Postby leilei » Sat 12 Aug, 2017 8:10 pm

You're debugging the LOD calculation on Rage Pro emulation?

Squishing one of my old ATI Rage Pro Quake2 screenshots shows a similar dither pattern/color reduction (however gamma was applied manually here, i don't know where my ungamma'd ragepro shot went)
Attachments
squishedq2ragepro.jpg
squishedq2ragepro.jpg (36.79 KiB) Viewed 953 times
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1327
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Development screenshots

Postby SarahWalker » Mon 14 Aug, 2017 9:29 pm

No, not that exciting sadly. Another clue :
pcem_mystery2.jpg
pcem_mystery2.jpg (130.19 KiB) Viewed 896 times
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Development screenshots

Postby omarsis81 » Mon 14 Aug, 2017 10:14 pm

SarahWalker wrote:No, not that exciting sadly. Another clue :
pcem_mystery2.jpg

There are some scanlines in the upper part of the screen.
Looks like a high res screen, hmm, maybe Voodoo3? :roll:
iwasaperson
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun 02 Nov, 2014 12:48 am

Re: Development screenshots

Postby iwasaperson » Mon 14 Aug, 2017 10:24 pm

3DFX SLI?
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Development screenshots

Postby omarsis81 » Mon 14 Aug, 2017 10:29 pm

iwasaperson wrote:3DFX SLI?

Oh my god if it is! But with a Pentium 233 the difference would be negligible
User avatar
leilei
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: Development screenshots

Postby leilei » Mon 14 Aug, 2017 11:43 pm

Sure it will. Two cards on two different PCI slots helps overcome some of the bottleneck. There's also the 1024x768 res to play with with the additional memory available.

However I just hope there's support for 3 or 4 CPU threads for this kind of thing...

Voodoo3 doesn't have an interleaving effect (and its registers clash with V2's so emulating that would be a bit complicated at this point)
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1327
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Development screenshots

Postby SarahWalker » Tue 15 Aug, 2017 4:48 pm

iwasaperson wins.
pcem_voodoo2_sli.jpg
pcem_voodoo2_sli.jpg (156.77 KiB) Viewed 827 times

pcem_obsidian100db.png
pcem_obsidian100db.png (44.98 KiB) Viewed 827 times

The render thread count is per-card, so you can have 4 render threads in total (plus 2 FIFO threads). So you will need at least a Core i7 to run it flat out.

If you just want the resolution though, setting 1 render thread per card is often fast enough on quad core systems.

I did look at Banshee/V3 a couple of months ago, but concluded it was probably too much work for v13. Maybe for v15...
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Development screenshots

Postby omarsis81 » Tue 15 Aug, 2017 6:20 pm

Wow, I'm very impressed with Voodoo2 SLI. The day we have the Pentium II we will have plenty of retrogaming to play with!
Tell me, how similar or not the Banshee and the Voodoo3 are? I know they have different chips (Banshee and Avenger), but not very much beyond that.

PS. Thanks for sharing those screenshots with us
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1327
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Development screenshots

Postby SarahWalker » Tue 15 Aug, 2017 6:29 pm

The 3D section of Banshee/V3 (the two are mostly the same) is very similar to V2. The 2D section would require quite a bit of work.
ecksemmess
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed 18 Mar, 2015 5:27 am

Re: Development screenshots

Postby ecksemmess » Wed 16 Aug, 2017 3:22 am

SarahWalker wrote:The render thread count is per-card, so you can have 4 render threads in total (plus 2 FIFO threads). So you will need at least a Core i7 to run it flat out.

If you just want the resolution though, setting 1 render thread per card is often fast enough on quad core systems.


I'm a bit confused by the implied conflation of quad-core with 4-thread systems here. My i7 is quad-core, 8-thread, via Hyperthreading. For purposes of this SLI emulation, can I expect to get away with using 2 render threads per card, with the help of the Hyperthreading?
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1327
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Development screenshots

Postby SarahWalker » Wed 16 Aug, 2017 4:56 pm

Probably! I don't have a system with HyperThreading so I don't know how well it performs.
User avatar
leilei
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: Development screenshots

Postby leilei » Wed 16 Aug, 2017 7:11 pm

On my quad I haven't noticed a difference between 1 and 2 threads on SLI... probably need to try something fillrate-eating first. The CPU monitor definitely shows all 4 cores getting their use

EDIT: Hmm there's performance differences in the emulation for V2 SLI's if the thread's changed. 2 threads are definitely faster than 1 and shows off the scanlines even more. 3DMark2001 Pro Fillrate test @ 640x480x16 tested (I hit 70-90%s there on P200MMX, 144.2 MTexels/s). SLI is still detected with 1 thread, but doesn't seem to be much faster than a solo V2 there guest-wise...
User avatar
gen_angry
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat 25 Feb, 2017 6:48 am

Re: Development screenshots

Postby gen_angry » Sat 19 Aug, 2017 8:58 pm

SarahWalker wrote:Probably! I don't have a system with HyperThreading so I don't know how well it performs.


If you're up for it: can PM me a build and I can test it on my 6700K if you'd like, or if you know of a working guide to compile this in windows?

Otherwise, I'm not 100% sure how to compile this as I'm a scrub that's only ever worked with Visual Studio. :(
JosepMa
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue 20 Jun, 2017 6:25 pm

Re: Development screenshots

Postby JosepMa » Sun 20 Aug, 2017 9:59 am

I am attaching some screenshots of the SLI in action.
Image quality of the screenshots is reduced due to jpeg artifacts due to attachment size limits.

The game is GPolice being run at 1024x768 without issues.

On the task manager, the different threads can be seen. Note that since PCEm does not attach application threads to cpu threads, the whole cpu usage is distributed between all threads, even though they are mostly keep on the same one. (And also note that this CPU is 4 cores, 8 threads).

PCem Video mode is OpenGL. Graphics card is a Geforce GTX 1060. Screen dpi increased to 125% (high resolution display).
Attachments
2017-08-20 11_33_34-Clipboard2.jpg
Task manager with cpu threads
2017-08-20 11_33_34-Clipboard2.jpg (91.81 KiB) Viewed 562 times
2017-08-20 11_33_34-Clipboard1.jpg
GPolice at 1024x768
2017-08-20 11_33_34-Clipboard1.jpg (127.29 KiB) Viewed 562 times

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: grommit2007 and 5 guests