[Bug] Hard drive type size

Discussion of development and patch submission.
Post Reply
User avatar
gen_angry
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat 25 Feb, 2017 6:48 am

[Bug] Hard drive type size

Post by gen_angry » Fri 15 Dec, 2017 7:56 am

I set up a new 386 machine, used a new type 32 hard drive from the list (17 sector, 15 heads, 1024 cylinder = 127MB)

Image

Installed MS-DOS 5.00a using default options (auto format whole drive).

Typed DIR, saw there was more than 300mb free. Used FDISK, get this:

Image

Attached config.

Thanks :)
Attachments
MS-DOS 500 (386-40).cfg
PCem config
(1.22 KiB) Downloaded 16 times

Greatpsycho
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue 22 Mar, 2016 10:03 am
Location: Korea
Contact:

Re: [Bug] Hard drive type size

Post by Greatpsycho » Fri 15 Dec, 2017 12:51 pm

Did you select correct Hard Disk C: Type on BIOS Setup? You should set type 32 or type 47 with Cyl=1024, Head=15, WPCom=65535, LZone=1024, Sect=17 on BIOS Setup like below screenshots.
HDD_SETUP1.png
HDD_SETUP1.png (81.1 KiB) Viewed 388 times
HDD_SETUP2.png
HDD_SETUP2.png (82.18 KiB) Viewed 388 times

User avatar
gen_angry
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat 25 Feb, 2017 6:48 am

Re: [Bug] Hard drive type size

Post by gen_angry » Fri 15 Dec, 2017 5:06 pm

I used type 47 and entered the details manually. But I will try type 32 in there and reformat.

edit: I deleted the disk file entirely, remade it, and now it shows correct size. Not sure what happened there. Probably user error :( I've been doing that a lot lately...

Sorry about that.
Last edited by gen_angry on Fri 15 Dec, 2017 5:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gen_angry
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat 25 Feb, 2017 6:48 am

Re: [Bug] Hard drive type size

Post by gen_angry » Fri 15 Dec, 2017 5:25 pm

erm, when I tried to close the 386 machine - it crashed. Not sure if related.

attached event viewer export in zip file
Attachments
crash.zip
(3.58 KiB) Downloaded 16 times

Post Reply