Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme (PB410A)

Discussion of development and patch submission.
Post Reply
Zorix
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat 03 Mar, 2018 1:03 am

Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme (PB410A)

Post by Zorix » Sat 03 Mar, 2018 1:49 pm

I have extracted the BIOS contents of my Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme with board model PB410A (486 SX 25 with Overdrive socket). SYS V1.01.20E, VGA V10.05.03J. I saw another Packard Bell machine added in the commit log and I was wondering if any others were wanted/needed. I would actually like to see this BIOS boot as an emulated system as well. Is there a procedure for this or is this done on a case by case basis? Thanks!

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1541
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme (PB410A)

Post by SarahWalker » Sat 03 Mar, 2018 9:38 pm

I've been unable to find out much about the PB410A on tinternet. Could you photograph the motherboard, or at least list what chips are on it? If it's mainly chips that have already been implemented then it should be relatively easy to add.

Zorix
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat 03 Mar, 2018 1:03 am

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme (PB410A)

Post by Zorix » Sun 04 Mar, 2018 2:31 am

No problem. I'll clean the board tomorrow and take a picture. This site has information about that board: http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/pb/mb/410.htm

The VGA controller is an Headland HT216-32. The ROM for this is in the BIOS ROM as well.

From what I can tell the IDE and FDC ports seem to be routed to an ACC Micro 3221SP chip.
There is also an ACC Micro 2168 which could be the chipset.

Other than that I see an Ananlog Devices DAC near the VGA controller and another chip that could be an Intel DMA controller possibly. No sound on board, but a custom header for a 2400 baud modem daughterboard. It's pretty dirty so I need to give it a good clean before any usable pictures can be made.

Thanks for looking into it.

Zorix
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat 03 Mar, 2018 1:03 am

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme (PB410A)

Post by Zorix » Sun 04 Mar, 2018 4:48 pm

I have uploaded 4 images of the motherboard after cleaning. I attached the modem in one of the pictures as well. Thanks.

https://imgur.com/a/k9mFf

User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 617
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme (PB410A)

Post by omarsis81 » Sun 04 Mar, 2018 5:17 pm

Zorix wrote:
Sun 04 Mar, 2018 4:48 pm
https://imgur.com/a/k9mFf
Whoa! That barrel battery is still holding! I strongly advise you to remove it (it may leak and damage the board)

Zorix
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat 03 Mar, 2018 1:03 am

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme (PB410A)

Post by Zorix » Sun 04 Mar, 2018 5:25 pm

For sure. Actually, right after that picture was taken, I checked the voltage on it and it's dead flat, and then I desoldered it. So it's good now. The power supply though is a complete mess.

https://imgur.com/a/S9Eov

I'm hoping the motherboard is still functional. I will rebuild the power supply and extensively test it before trying it.

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1541
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme (PB410A)

Post by SarahWalker » Sun 04 Mar, 2018 9:23 pm

Hmm - that Headland video chip is troublesome. PCem currently has no emulation of any Headland video chips. If it was a dumb SVGA chip I might have tried to emulate it in time for v14, but it appears to have some acceleration features which makes it more complicated. The ACC chipset may also prove troublesome, as I've yet to find documentation for any of their chipsets.

As such it's highly unlikely that this machine will be emulated in time for v14 I'm afraid. v15 may be possible though.

Zorix
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat 03 Mar, 2018 1:03 am

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme (PB410A)

Post by Zorix » Sun 04 Mar, 2018 9:44 pm

Thanks for having a look. I have a datasheet for the HT216-32 but it was not hard to find. It's a VLB chip as well. I haven't heard of ACC either until I looked at the board.

Post Reply