SVGA question

Discussion of development and patch submission.
Post Reply
Battler
Posts: 793
Joined: Sun 06 Jul, 2014 7:05 pm

SVGA question

Post by Battler »

In vid_svga.c, where it adds things to the status window, shouldn't it say this:

Code: Select all

sprintf(temps, "SVGA refresh rate : %i Hz\n\n", svga->interlace ? (svga->frames >> 1) : svga->frames);
Instead of this:

Code: Select all

sprintf(temps, "SVGA refresh rate : %i Hz\n\n", svga->frames);
? Because right now, it seems to show exactly twice the refresh rate it interlaced mode (ie. 86 Hz at 1024x768x32bpp when it's really 43 Hz).
User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 2054
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: SVGA question

Post by SarahWalker »

It is technically correct - it's 43 frames per second, but 86 _fields_ per second, and PCem is updating at the field rate so that any screen animation is as smooth as it would be on a real machine using the same mode. So PCem reports the higher number.
Battler
Posts: 793
Joined: Sun 06 Jul, 2014 7:05 pm

Re: SVGA question

Post by Battler »

Then I guess just a small indicator should be added to the status window to indicate whether the current mode is progressive or interlaced.
User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 2054
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: SVGA question

Post by SarahWalker »

Could do. It's usually pretty obvious if a mode is interlaced though - just try moving the mouse...
RetroGIG94
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed 30 Mar, 2016 4:09 am

Re: SVGA question

Post by RetroGIG94 »

I have one question. Is it possible for 3D acceleration to work on SVGA cards?
codehacker
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 17 Aug, 2016 1:30 am

Re: SVGA question

Post by codehacker »

430VX Motherboard + S3 Virge DX card + Voodoo card = 3D accleration
This combination is the only one I know.
RetroGIG94
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed 30 Mar, 2016 4:09 am

Re: SVGA question

Post by RetroGIG94 »

Yeah but S3 Virge DX is a horrible card for playing Lego creator and I am getting the feeling that there is no other way to get my gameplay speed any faster.
codehacker
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 17 Aug, 2016 1:30 am

Re: SVGA question

Post by codehacker »

I don't know, but you could try to reduce the refresh rate of the card.
In Win95 open regedit, go to "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE", "SOFTWARE", "S3", "Refresh".
At "ref_800x600" add the hexadecimal value 10 to it.

Then go to the monitor settings, "actualize" or similar, "change configuration", and then at 800x600 select 16 Hz.

Perhaps it would run faster then.
I couldn't find out a way to force the monitor AND the 2d card AND the 3d card to 15 Hz to test if there is a change in speed.

Good luck!
RetroGIG94
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed 30 Mar, 2016 4:09 am

Re: SVGA question

Post by RetroGIG94 »

Thanks. But how where in the regedit should I put the "Value 10"? Next to "ref_800x600"?
codehacker
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 17 Aug, 2016 1:30 am

Re: SVGA question

Post by codehacker »

1.) Double click on "ref_800_600".
2.) Click with the mouse to the right of the last number. The Cursor jumps to there.
3.) Write for example 10 to there.
4.) Click on ok.
RetroGIG94
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed 30 Mar, 2016 4:09 am

Re: SVGA question

Post by RetroGIG94 »

I don't see S3.
codehacker
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 17 Aug, 2016 1:30 am

Re: SVGA question

Post by codehacker »

Do you have installed the s3 virge driver?
Google for "W9531201.zip" and install it in windows.
Perhaps then you can find S3 in regedit.
RetroGIG94
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed 30 Mar, 2016 4:09 am

Re: SVGA question

Post by RetroGIG94 »

I have the zip file and all I have to do is install the driver.
RetroGIG94
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed 30 Mar, 2016 4:09 am

Re: SVGA question

Post by RetroGIG94 »

I found it but where do I put the value 10?
0000 FF00 38 3C 48 4B 55 y . 9<HKU
codehacker
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 17 Aug, 2016 1:30 am

Re: SVGA question

Post by codehacker »

between 55 and y.
I am courious, if it will work faster. :-)
RetroGIG94
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed 30 Mar, 2016 4:09 am

Re: SVGA question

Post by RetroGIG94 »

And spaces betwen 55 and y.?
RetroGIG94
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed 30 Mar, 2016 4:09 am

Re: SVGA question

Post by RetroGIG94 »

Tried that and in Hardware mode it froze.
codehacker
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 17 Aug, 2016 1:30 am

Re: SVGA question

Post by codehacker »

In software mode: Is it faster now than before you changed it to 16Hz?
RetroGIG94
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed 30 Mar, 2016 4:09 am

Re: SVGA question

Post by RetroGIG94 »

Well it's still choppy.
Post Reply