[Linux] GUI discussion

Discussion of development and patch submission.
Greatpsycho
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue 22 Mar, 2016 10:03 am
Location: Korea
Contact:

Re: [Linux] GUI discussion

Post by Greatpsycho »

AmatCoder wrote:It seems that you have installed SDL2 into /usr/local.
Uninstall it and then re-install it with:

Code: Select all

$ ./configure --prefix=/usr
Rationale:
Configure script installs packages into /usr/local/ by default (i.e. if prefix is not set).

As pkg-config* will search for .pc files in the directories /usr/lib/pkgconfig and /usr/share/pkgconfig (on a typical system),
your sdl2.pc is not found (it was into /usr/local/lib/pkgconfig).

(*)The pkg-config program is used to retrieve information about installed libraries in the system.
I did try as you suggested, but the result is the same. Screenshot and config.log file is attached.
SDL2-error.png
SDL2-error.png (72.25 KiB) Viewed 9770 times
Attachments
config.log
(17.21 KiB) Downloaded 374 times
AmatCoder
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu 02 Mar, 2017 8:45 pm

Re: [Linux] GUI discussion

Post by AmatCoder »

Check the output of:

Code: Select all

$ pkg-config --variable pc_path pkg-config
Per example, here (on Arch Linux) gives:

Code: Select all

/usr/lib/pkgconfig:/usr/share/pkgconfig
One file called sdl2.pc must exist into one of those directories.
Greatpsycho
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue 22 Mar, 2016 10:03 am
Location: Korea
Contact:

Re: [Linux] GUI discussion

Post by Greatpsycho »

AmatCoder wrote:Check the output of:

Code: Select all

$ pkg-config --variable pc_path pkg-config
Per example, here (on Arch Linux) gives:

Code: Select all

/usr/lib/pkgconfig:/usr/share/pkgconfig
One file called sdl2.pc must exist into one of those directories.
I did what you asked me to do, but nothing like the screenshot below.
pkg-config-result.png
pkg-config-result.png (18.14 KiB) Viewed 9763 times
Edit : I've logged as root, configure script and make have run fine. Is there anything I can do with a normal user account on CentOS 6.x?
On a debian-based Linux system and CentOS 7.x installed in a virtual machine, there are no problems with normal user accounts.
AmatCoder
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu 02 Mar, 2017 8:45 pm

Re: [Linux] GUI discussion

Post by AmatCoder »

Greatpsycho wrote: Edit : I've logged as root, configure script and make have run fine. Is there anything I can do with a normal user account on CentOS 6.x?
On a debian-based Linux system installed in a virtual machine, there are no problems with normal user accounts.
I guess that something is wrong in your system. Configure script and make does not require root privileges.
szadycbr
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon 21 Nov, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: [Linux] GUI discussion

Post by szadycbr »

I guess its not about GUI but it happen running PCem in Linux so i will ask here. 430vx from some time now, does not boot from floppy, can anyone confirm that?
User avatar
leilei
Posts: 1039
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: [Linux] GUI discussion

Post by leilei »

I can still boot from floppy on 430vx in Windows at least....
szadycbr
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon 21 Nov, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: [Linux] GUI discussion

Post by szadycbr »

Thanks leilei, it is on 64bit linux wx-sdl2 build, i know there are some problems with recompiler in linux , but running it without it does not make a difference, so i dont know why. is there any way to check what is happening? how to debug the thing?
JosepMa
Posts: 202
Joined: Tue 20 Jun, 2017 6:25 pm

Re: [Linux] GUI discussion

Post by JosepMa »

@szadycbr : There were some changes to the floppy controller. I also experienced problems running it under a windows host.
My solution consisted in going into the guest bios , there into integrated peripherals, and there enable onboard FDD controller.

Give it a try.
szadycbr
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon 21 Nov, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: [Linux] GUI discussion

Post by szadycbr »

Thanks Joseph, but i do always first configure FDD in bios, and BIOS does see FDD 1.44 during boot on list of devices but it just wont even try to boot, as You can see it on fdd icon, it checks CD or HDD but floppy wont even blink. and as i searched peripherals i seen USB in 430vx! does it work?
Post Reply