[SOLVED] Hitman 47

Discussion of development and patch submission.
Post Reply
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 630
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

[SOLVED] Hitman 47

Post by omarsis81 » Wed 08 Mar, 2017 11:26 pm

I was playing Hitman 47 and on the 2nd mission (or 3rd if you count the tutorial as one).
It looked good and played at a decent framerate even when a Pentium II is required as minimum, and all of a sudden PCem crashed.
I was using the Voodoo2
"pclog.txt" was created with the following line:

triangle_setup wrong order 8548 -768 1174

Hope you can do something with that!
Last edited by omarsis81 on Tue 28 Mar, 2017 4:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 630
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Hitman 47

Post by omarsis81 » Thu 09 Mar, 2017 1:17 am

Happened again
triangle_setup wrong order 17916 -26484 833

I believe those are random numbers and probably won't help much :(

User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 630
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: [BUG] Hitman 47

Post by omarsis81 » Sat 18 Mar, 2017 4:26 pm

Happened again in the next level too: "Massacre at Cheung Chau Fish Restaurant"
triangle_setup wrong order 12234 12234 -5320

I disabled "Texture Compression" thinking Voodoo2 doesn't support it, but it happened anyway

User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 630
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Hitman 47

Post by omarsis81 » Tue 28 Mar, 2017 4:16 pm

I have news!
After many days of playing I was able to find an exact spot in the game where the game always crashes (see picture) in that spot looking at the mirror in the mission "The Massacre at Cheung Chau Fish Restaurant"

As I was able to reproduce the crashing, I tested on a real Voodoo2 and it happens that it crashes too... but that only happens when running the game under Glide. I switched the card and plugged a TNT2 and I tested the game running via Direct3D and OpenGL. The game doesn't crash.

So, I think it is safe to conclude (and Sarah you can add "Hitman: Codename 47" to the working list of games) the game runs fine, with occasional crashes under Glide (non PCem related). We'd be able to play this title flawlessly when/if we have the TNT2 or any other good Direct3D/OpenGL card.

Hmm, I may try using MesaFX with the Voodoo2 and see if it works
Attachments
hitman47-crash.jpg
hitman47-crash.jpg (237.73 KiB) Viewed 1032 times

Orchidsworn
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun 22 Mar, 2015 10:16 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Hitman 47

Post by Orchidsworn » Mon 03 Apr, 2017 10:56 am

And now you make me imagine how much fun a TNT2 would be on PCEM... well once I get the supercomputer I would need to emulate it at least.

User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 630
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Hitman 47

Post by omarsis81 » Mon 03 Apr, 2017 12:20 pm

You bet! I wonder why Voodoo2 is not good at Direct3D (real hard). Besides Hitman 47, I'm testing "Escape from Monkey Island" and it doesn't look good at all

Post Reply