Page 1 of 1

720kb floppy and SiS 496 error

Posted: Wed 29 Mar, 2017 6:23 pm
by omarsis81
I'm not sure if it is a bug from PCem or not, but here's what I observe:

Only happens with the SiS 496/497 motherboard

If I select in the Configure menu a 720 disk drive and configure it as 720kb in the BIOS
it gives the "Floppy disk(s) fail (40)" on the POST screen.

I could just press F1 and the POST continues, the floppy drive works fine, but maybe there's something wrong with the detection.
I tested it with two different BIOSes

Can someone else please reproduce this?

Re: 720kb floppy and SiS 496 error

Posted: Thu 27 Apr, 2017 7:39 am
by altheos
I reproduce this and can confirm that the message "Floppy disk(s) fail.." is very specific in setting a 720k drive in BIOS.

Re: 720kb floppy and SiS 496 error

Posted: Thu 27 Apr, 2017 1:06 pm
by Battler
I can also reproduce this.