[Bug] MS-DOS 6.0 SYS.COM gives Divide Overflow...

Discussion of development and patch submission.
Battler
Posts: 793
Joined: Sun 06 Jul, 2014 7:05 pm

[Bug] MS-DOS 6.0 SYS.COM gives Divide Overflow...

Postby Battler » Sat 15 Jul, 2017 2:41 pm

Basically, have it transfer files from a drive or directory where there are the relevant system files, to C:. It will give divide overflow.

Edit: It specifically happens with the SYS.COM of MS-DOS 6.0 OEMBase which differs from that of regular MS-DOS 6.0. Download link (SYS.COM only, not the full DOS): http://bep.si/?ownly .
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Bug] MS-DOS 6.0 SYS.COM gives Divide Overflow...

Postby SarahWalker » Sun 16 Jul, 2017 2:36 pm

Works fine here (with retail 6.0 anyway). More details please?
Battler
Posts: 793
Joined: Sun 06 Jul, 2014 7:05 pm

Re: [Bug] MS-DOS 6.0 SYS.COM gives Divide Overflow...

Postby Battler » Sun 16 Jul, 2017 5:19 pm

Use the SYS.COM I linked you to, not the regular MS-DOS 6.0 SYS.COM which does work.
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Bug] MS-DOS 6.0 SYS.COM gives Divide Overflow...

Postby SarahWalker » Sun 16 Jul, 2017 5:30 pm

I did. I'm not stupid you know.
Battler
Posts: 793
Joined: Sun 06 Jul, 2014 7:05 pm

Re: [Bug] MS-DOS 6.0 SYS.COM gives Divide Overflow...

Postby Battler » Sun 16 Jul, 2017 5:33 pm

I used the Award 430VX PCI, Pentium 75, 64 MB RAM. Not sure if the choice of board and CPU affects it, but it might.
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Bug] MS-DOS 6.0 SYS.COM gives Divide Overflow...

Postby SarahWalker » Sun 16 Jul, 2017 8:48 pm

Looks to be recompiler only.

Could you please read this : http://pcem-emulator.co.uk/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4. It would make life somewhat easier...
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Bug] MS-DOS 6.0 SYS.COM gives Divide Overflow...

Postby SarahWalker » Sun 16 Jul, 2017 9:11 pm

Nope - looks to hit divide overflow only when trying to write to a disc that already has the system on it.

Do you have confirmation that this version of SYS.COM actually works properly on a real machine / another emulator when doing this? Because this isn't looking like a PCem bug to me - it appears that the OEMBase SYS.COM is either buggy or corrupt.
Battler
Posts: 793
Joined: Sun 06 Jul, 2014 7:05 pm

Re: [Bug] MS-DOS 6.0 SYS.COM gives Divide Overflow...

Postby Battler » Mon 17 Jul, 2017 12:31 pm

It might not be a PCem bug, since I had the same thing happen on my real PC (the same I'm posting this from right now - I have a smaller 32 MB partition for DOS on another drive).

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests