Windows 10 problem

Discussion of development and patch submission.
Yuds2003
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu 24 Aug, 2017 6:19 pm

Windows 10 problem

Postby Yuds2003 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 2:42 pm

I have a problem running PCem V12 on Windows 10. Here's what happens:

1. Window opens
2. Three static sounds
3. Window closes

I have the ROMs for PCem downloaded and in the PCem "roms" folder. What am I doing wrong?
Last edited by Yuds2003 on Fri 25 Aug, 2017 3:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby omarsis81 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 3:23 pm

Hmm, maybe you have not placed the ROMS in the correct folder
Yuds2003
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu 24 Aug, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Yuds2003 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 3:24 pm

I have placed the ROMs in the correct folders but it does the above process: opening, static, then exiting. Is this some PCem V12 issue with Windows 10? (I keep making typos)
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby omarsis81 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 3:29 pm

Are you running the version 12 downloaded from this page? Or you compiled it youself? Because there were many bugfixes after Feb 2017 when v12 was released
Yuds2003
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu 24 Aug, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Yuds2003 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 3:32 pm

V12 precompiled.
Yuds2003
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu 24 Aug, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Yuds2003 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 3:33 pm

From this page. I don't know how to compile so I always go the precompiled route when installing software that is available as both precompiled binary and source code.
JosepMa
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue 20 Jun, 2017 6:25 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby JosepMa » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 5:03 pm

There isn't any big problems related to compatibility with Windows 10. Even Pcem v11 works with it.

Paste your pcem.cfg file, to see if there is something unusual in the configuration.
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby omarsis81 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 5:58 pm

JosepMa wrote:There isn't any big problems related to compatibility with Windows 10. Even Pcem v11 works with it.

Paste your pcem.cfg file, to see if there is something unusual in the configuration.

For what I read in his first the problem is not Windows 10 per se but ROM configuration. Later revisions after v12 made significan upgrades regarding Direct3D / DDraw
Yuds2003
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu 24 Aug, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Yuds2003 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 6:09 pm

I downloaded PCem V11 somewhere else because the download on the PCem downloads page does something similar after being extracted and opened (It does not static, though).
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby omarsis81 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 6:16 pm

Like I said, you are not having problems with PCem because of Windows 10.
Beware, video card ROMS go in /roms but motherboard ROM go into a particular folder inside "ROMS", e.g. for the 430VX system you need to place "55XWUQ0E.BIN" into C:\PCem\roms\430vx\55XWUQ0E.BIN
Yuds2003
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu 24 Aug, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Yuds2003 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 6:19 pm

There is no documentation on the website and the readme in the extracted folder does not have documentation either.
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby omarsis81 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 6:24 pm

I know, that's why we are trying to help you here:
A complete list of the files can be found here:
https://bitbucket.org/pcem_emulator/pcem
Yuds2003
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu 24 Aug, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Yuds2003 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 6:26 pm

I said earlier, I don't know how to compile source code for Windows but I do know how to compile source code for Linux.
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby omarsis81 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 6:30 pm

No need to compile, use the compiled v12
The webpage I just gave lists the ROM files needed
Yuds2003
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu 24 Aug, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Yuds2003 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 6:33 pm

How do I download the ROMs there?
Because all I could download there was a source version of PCem without ROMs or anything.
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby omarsis81 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 6:39 pm

ROM files cannot be distributed here because of the copyright policy the admin maintains here.
You have to resort to your Google skills
Yuds2003
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu 24 Aug, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Yuds2003 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 6:43 pm

I said "How do I download the ROMs THERE?"
TheMadLynx
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue 01 Aug, 2017 10:15 am

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby TheMadLynx » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 6:53 pm

THERE are sources and text information files and no roms. Open Google and ask "pcem roms" I guess even the first link will make you happy.
Yuds2003
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu 24 Aug, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Yuds2003 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 6:55 pm

TheMadLynx, the first link is PCem V11 + BIOS images (which are probably ROMs) but I don't think it works:
[Moderator : Do NOT post links to copyrighted material]
Edit: Moderators, the link was to a download of PCem V11 + BIOS images and PCem V11 is FREE!
Last edited by Yuds2003 on Wed 30 Aug, 2017 8:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Yuds2003
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu 24 Aug, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Yuds2003 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 6:59 pm

omarsis81, I used PCem V0.5 (downloaded somwhere else) for a tutorial of installing Windows DR5 on it and it worked just fine with the genxt rom I downloaded from the website with the tutorial.
Yuds2003
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu 24 Aug, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Yuds2003 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 7:08 pm

Also, omarsis81, I tested Windows NT 3.1 and 3.5 on the copy of PCem V11 I downloaded from the other site and here are the results:
NT 3.1: Setup loads, but does not install because of SCSI CD-ROM detection problems.
NT 3.5: Boots from floppy, but after loading drivers, Setup does not load because it claims it could not find a keyboard, as if it was disconnected.

Also, I didn't say this, but I am an American.
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby omarsis81 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 7:22 pm

There is little point in giving the results of previous versions of PCem as it progresses fairly quick and probably those Windows versions work now.
Nice to an American here, but we don't care much about nationality here
Yuds2003
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu 24 Aug, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Yuds2003 » Fri 25 Aug, 2017 9:06 pm

But NT 3.1 requires a SCSI CD-ROM drive, apparently, and PCem only emulates an IDE CD-ROM drive. Not sure about 3.5 though.
szadycbr
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon 21 Nov, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby szadycbr » Sat 26 Aug, 2017 8:50 am

Yuds2003 welcome here. You can install NT 3.1 on PCem. Boot from win95 floppy disk and then change letter to CD rom, change directory to i386 and type "winnt" this file runs in msdos. installer will ask you to provide empty floppy disk, so make copy of that win95 boot disk and format it, so you have the empty disk. it will make new startup disk and it will copy install files to HDD. then restart and keep newly created disk in floppy drive to boot from, it will still try to find SCSI drive but after it fails simply press enter to continue and setup will go forward.

however i get problems using build compiled from Bit sources in linux, i did it on ami 386dx with the type 46 drive (47?) it is 146MB drive using 386dx 33Mhz and , installer said that "setup will not work with this cpu" ? it did same on Pentium cpu , and when i tryed to boot on amstrad MegaPC 386sx it gave me error as on screen below.
Yuds2003 Please try now with windows version of v12 precompiled from PCem site, and we will see , will you have same errors?
I used winNT 3.1 Workstation 3.10.511.1

PS. Bit if you read this, i compiled now from your sources and strangely 430vx does not boot from floppy.
Attachments
screenshot.png
screenshot.png (39.06 KiB) Viewed 920 times
Last edited by szadycbr on Sat 26 Aug, 2017 4:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Battler
Posts: 793
Joined: Sun 06 Jul, 2014 7:05 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Battler » Sat 26 Aug, 2017 2:42 pm

szadycbr wrote:and , installer said that "setup will not work with this cpu" ?

Yeah, most NT 3.1 ISO's floating around have patched files to allow it to install on modern hardware, which however makes them unable to install on old hardware.
szadycbr
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon 21 Nov, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby szadycbr » Sat 26 Aug, 2017 4:22 pm

Hi Battler , yes You were right and it is one of those strange isos. I quickly found solution online, as usually more people had same problem.
All you need to do is manually set CPU architecture , in folder i386 is file Initial.inf but is yet to be installed and shows Initial.in_ and in that file you can find "ProcessorVar" and edit line "STF_PROCESSOR = "" ?$(!LIBHANDLE) GetProcessor" to "STF_PROCESSOR =$(ProcessorID_I586)" it works on pentium no probs and i do guess that for lower cpus just change I586 part to I486 ,I386 , but that is only guess as i did not bother to try. it works fast on pentium 100 cpu. The article i read said to edit also setup.inf file, but i did not , it worked after changing only initial.in_. BTW this file might be .ini but the guy said they are .inf , anyway it does not matter. So yeah, NT 3.1 solved.
Attachments
screenshot2.jpg
screenshot2.jpg (67.11 KiB) Viewed 883 times
Yuds2003
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu 24 Aug, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Yuds2003 » Sun 27 Aug, 2017 1:00 pm

I solved the NT 3.1 problem with VirtualBox by editing the inital.in_ file BEFORE setup started.
bit
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun 19 Mar, 2017 7:04 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby bit » Sun 03 Sep, 2017 7:35 am

szadycbr wrote:PS. Bit if you read this, i compiled now from your sources and strangely 430vx does not boot from floppy.

I tried this and can confirm that it doesn't work. I tried it in the normal Windows-version and it doesn't work there either so it might be a BIOS-issue? Not sure.
JosepMa
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue 20 Jun, 2017 6:25 pm

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby JosepMa » Sun 03 Sep, 2017 9:52 am

Re: floppy.
Some revisions ago, I had to enter into the bios setup and enable the option "Onboard FDD controller" under integrated peripherals. Else, it would show a warning on boot up.
To me, the pcem-emulator repository sources are working with that option.

Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests