Page 1 of 1

[Patch] Toshiba T1200

Posted: Mon 29 Jan, 2018 10:31 pm
by JohnElliott
This implements T1200 support, and also fixes the crash when you enable XTIDE on the T1000.

Re: [Patch] Toshiba T1200

Posted: Tue 30 Jan, 2018 8:28 pm
by Fenix77
Hello.

I found inside the pacth the CPU is defined as 8088.
As is written here, the CPU is 8086. https://usermanual.com/document/6969/to ... ation.html
The memory amounts are correct.

Re: [Patch] Toshiba T1200

Posted: Wed 31 Jan, 2018 9:55 pm
by SarahWalker
Committed at rev 1016.

Re: [Patch] Toshiba T1200

Posted: Wed 31 Jan, 2018 10:20 pm
by darksabre76
When trying to compile the latest commit:

Code: Select all

pcem-mem.o: In function `loadbios':
C:\Users\darksabre76\Downloads\EmuBuild\home\user\pcem\src/mem.c:780: undefined reference to `romfread'

Re: [Patch] Toshiba T1200

Posted: Thu 01 Feb, 2018 6:07 pm
by SarahWalker
Fixed in rev 1017 - some of John's changes didn't get committed last night.

Re: [Patch] Toshiba T1200

Posted: Fri 02 Feb, 2018 2:16 pm
by Fenix77
Hello.

I found a bug in the T1200 emulation. The machine does not boot and says "1-HDD & 1-FDD type".
I don't know if I'm asking too much, I know a floppy version of T1200 existed with two 3.5 720kb floppy drives, and maybe it uses a different BIOS
I think it can be used instead as workaround to avoid this issue with the undocumented JVC hard disk controller.
Again I don't how many changes to the code have to be done.

Thank you for the hard work!

Re: [Patch] Toshiba T1200

Posted: Fri 02 Feb, 2018 4:54 pm
by JohnElliott
I got that on initial boot, and I think just pressing RETURN is enough to get you past it. It's part of a message in the ROM saying that the CMOS is corrupt, and asking you whether the defaults should be set for HDD+FDD or FDD+FDD.

Re: [Patch] Toshiba T1200

Posted: Fri 02 Feb, 2018 6:13 pm
by Fenix77
Thanks you!

The machine works!. Tested and working with the Xebec MFM controller and a 20 MB hard disk.

I found two minor glitches.

1. With 1Mb configuration PCEM, not only the machine, crash during boot time. With 2Mb, starts normally, but only 640 of EMS is detected with no Hard-Ram installed.
(640kb conventional, at memory check, and 640kb when EMM.SYS is loaded,so it detects 1280 kb of total RAM)
2. The screen background is black, and it has to be changed to blue with right control+home at each reset.

Re: [Patch] Toshiba T1200

Posted: Fri 02 Feb, 2018 9:20 pm
by JohnElliott
This patch seems to fix the glitches for me.

The first was a straightforward hardcoded RAM size (this should also stop the T1000 crashing if it's manually configured with a non-standard RAM size).
The second was a BIOS feature to disable the built-in video chipset, so that an alternative video card (if present) would be used. The T3100e has the same feature.

Re: [Patch] Toshiba T1200

Posted: Sun 11 Feb, 2018 12:45 am
by Fenix77
I found only one small issue after applying the patch.
The TEST1 utility fails (abort) when checking the memory, however the memory amount in 1MB/2MB config is correctly detected.
But in the other hand CheckIt does not find any issue.
The blue screen works ok.

Windows 2.03 detects the EMS memory correctly with SmartDrive cache loaded.

Re: [Patch] Toshiba T1200

Posted: Sun 11 Feb, 2018 10:02 pm
by Fenix77
Hello

Sorry for writting again!

I found another small issue related to Hard-Ram. The Hard-Ram drive can be only accessed if There is no hard-disk installed because it uses the C drive letter.
If a third party hard-disk is installed, it uses the C drive letter, and the Hard-Ram is not assigned a D or any other drive letter.
May be the BIOS only detects as hard-disk the JVC controller. I don't know if it can be modified to check other disk controllers.

PD: However, I don't use Hard-Ram frequently because when I use another machine in PCEM and then I use T1000/T1200 machine again it says the data is lost.
Anyway, it is not much needed if a hard drive is present.

Thanks again!

Re: [Patch] Toshiba T1200

Posted: Sat 24 Feb, 2018 3:09 pm
by SarahWalker
JohnElliott wrote:
Fri 02 Feb, 2018 9:20 pm
This patch seems to fix the glitches for me.

The first was a straightforward hardcoded RAM size (this should also stop the T1000 crashing if it's manually configured with a non-standard RAM size).
The second was a BIOS feature to disable the built-in video chipset, so that an alternative video card (if present) would be used. The T3100e has the same feature.
Committed this patch at rev 1069.