[Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

User avatar
dns2kv2
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun 19 Feb, 2017 3:30 am

[Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by dns2kv2 » Sat 03 Feb, 2018 5:24 am

tested against latest pcem commit 9745aa0

patch requested by ArtiomWin [https://pcem-emulator.co.uk/phpBB3/memb ... ile&u=1661]

Image

front view:
Image

back view:
Image

bios:
Image

Packard Bell Legend 300SX on Youtube:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VcwKHqLpr1Y
Attachments
PCem - Packard Bell Legend 300SX.patch
(4.85 KiB) Downloaded 67 times

ArtiomWin
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 10 Dec, 2016 9:13 am

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by ArtiomWin » Sat 03 Feb, 2018 11:56 am

Thanks for patches. Few days ago I've tested ROMs for NEC motherboards with PCem-X, and Award BIOS for FM530 motherboard (it's PB equivalent is PB810) was launched successful. As that motherboard is based on Intel Triton II (430VX) chipset, I think it can be added to PCem easily (with minor tweaks). More info: http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/pb/mb/810.htm

User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 630
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by omarsis81 » Sat 03 Feb, 2018 10:57 pm

Very nice machine. Thank you for the patch!

User avatar
dns2kv2
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun 19 Feb, 2017 3:30 am

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by dns2kv2 » Sun 04 Feb, 2018 4:57 pm

ArtiomWin wrote:
Sat 03 Feb, 2018 11:56 am
Thanks for patches. Few days ago I've tested ROMs for NEC motherboards with PCem-X, and Award BIOS for FM530 motherboard (it's PB equivalent is PB810) was launched successful. As that motherboard is based on Intel Triton II (430VX) chipset, I think it can be added to PCem easily (with minor tweaks). More info: http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/pb/mb/810.htm
i believe it's not just minor tweaks, since theres a lot code changes in i430vx.
please don't compare PCem with PCem-X or it's unofficial forks.

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by SarahWalker » Mon 12 Feb, 2018 12:39 pm

Committed at rev 1031.

I think that this (or the seemingly identical 316SX) is the first PC I ever used.

For the record, this system has an OTI-067 onboard, uses an ACC Micro 2036 chipset and a UM82C862F SuperIO chip, none of which are currently emulated.

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by SarahWalker » Mon 12 Feb, 2018 3:56 pm

Rev 1035 adds basic ACC 2036 emulation.

User avatar
leilei
Posts: 584
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by leilei » Mon 12 Feb, 2018 10:37 pm

Another significant Packard Bell "first" many have had is the Legend 40xCD model as that's a cheap Pentium 75 (without cache D: ) but with a overcompensating software bundle that many out there are seemingly familiar with (mainly for Spiderman Cartoon Maker and Journeyman Project). This particular computer model was popular in the US. I've never had one but lots of my friends did.

It's Hillary-based IIRC and has some kind of SB16-compatible Packard Bell-exclusive sound/modem/tuner combo card (which exists on many models from 94-96).

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by SarahWalker » Tue 13 Feb, 2018 6:47 pm

Hmm...
pcem_pb570.png
pcem_pb570.png (25.02 KiB) Viewed 2684 times

User avatar
leilei
Posts: 584
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by leilei » Sat 17 Feb, 2018 2:43 am

I'm assuming the recent Cirrus changes has to deal with these Packard computers as they've had similar cirrus cards

EluanCM
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue 27 Oct, 2015 2:07 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by EluanCM » Sat 17 Feb, 2018 12:05 pm

By the way, I don't know what's different between the Cirrus 5429/5430/5434 other than bus width and other stuff that should affect only speed, but the 5429 code worked fine with the BIOS files I've extracted from two of my cards (two 5434 and one 5430 - one of them is onboard a Intel Premiere/PCI on a Packard Bell Legend 100CD)

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by SarahWalker » Mon 19 Feb, 2018 10:12 pm

Packard Bell PB570 (the board used on the Legend 40xCD and friends) now emulated at rev 1055.

jznomoney
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat 06 Dec, 2014 9:11 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by jznomoney » Tue 20 Feb, 2018 1:11 pm

SarahWalker wrote:
Mon 19 Feb, 2018 10:12 pm
Packard Bell PB570 (the board used on the Legend 40xCD and friends) now emulated at rev 1055.
Does this motherboard have pci slots for other video cards? I'm only able to select the onboard video.

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by SarahWalker » Tue 20 Feb, 2018 2:38 pm

Currently you can't select any other video cards on systems with built-in video. It's one of the things I need to look at improving.

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by SarahWalker » Tue 20 Feb, 2018 3:56 pm

For the hell of it, I added the PB520r (socket 4 motherboard) at rev 1058.

I think that's enough Packard Bell for now.

EluanCM
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue 27 Oct, 2015 2:07 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by EluanCM » Tue 20 Feb, 2018 6:20 pm

With the commits in the past week, PCem now emulates every system (sans some vgas and sound cards) that I've had contact prior to ~1996, this is wonderful. The PB520r is working perfectly with my HDD & BIOS dumps.

EDIT: Just a quick note: most GD5434 were just 1MB with expansion slots for 2MB (the two of mine are 1MB, including the onboard the PB520r). PCem only allows 2MB and 4MB (the configurations with the faster memory accesses).

EluanCM
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue 27 Oct, 2015 2:07 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by EluanCM » Wed 21 Feb, 2018 11:36 pm

I must correct myself, I've only tested with Windows 95. The GD5434 Win3.1 drivers are not working, even with today's MMIO fixes. The attached screenshot is from the Win31 Program Manager with a menu open.
Screenshot from 2018-02-21 17-34-48.png
Screenshot from 2018-02-21 17-34-48.png (8.9 KiB) Viewed 2372 times

jznomoney
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat 06 Dec, 2014 9:11 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by jznomoney » Wed 21 Feb, 2018 11:48 pm

I am using the packard bell 570 machine and no matter what soundcard or use the rtl8029as network card I get an error about a pci irq conflict. There is no way to get any of these devices to work. Am I missing something?

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by SarahWalker » Thu 22 Feb, 2018 9:05 pm

EluanCM wrote:
Wed 21 Feb, 2018 11:36 pm
I must correct myself, I've only tested with Windows 95. The GD5434 Win3.1 drivers are not working, even with today's MMIO fixes. The attached screenshot is from the Win31 Program Manager with a menu open.
Fixed in rev 1061.

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by SarahWalker » Fri 23 Feb, 2018 10:00 pm

jznomoney wrote:
Wed 21 Feb, 2018 11:48 pm
I am using the packard bell 570 machine and no matter what soundcard or use the rtl8029as network card I get an error about a pci irq conflict. There is no way to get any of these devices to work. Am I missing something?
Should be fixed in rev 1064.

jznomoney
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat 06 Dec, 2014 9:11 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by jznomoney » Fri 23 Feb, 2018 10:28 pm

SarahWalker wrote:
Fri 23 Feb, 2018 10:00 pm
jznomoney wrote:
Wed 21 Feb, 2018 11:48 pm
I am using the packard bell 570 machine and no matter what soundcard or use the rtl8029as network card I get an error about a pci irq conflict. There is no way to get any of these devices to work. Am I missing something?
Should be fixed in rev 1064.
Thanks for the fix. Works great now.

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by SarahWalker » Sat 24 Feb, 2018 9:44 am

Should also add this, before anyone stumbles into it by accident!

The PB570 BIOS only seems to support 2 PCI cards - the PIIX chip supports 4 devices, one of which is taken by the onboard graphics. This should leave three slots, however the BIOS seems to screw up IRQ mapping for the third slot so in practice it doesn't work. From what I can see, the real machines with this board only ever had two PCI slots so this was never an issue.

For PCem, what this means is that if you had more than two PCI devices - say, an AudioPCI, a PCI network card and a Voodoo card - only two of them will actually appear to be present. This is simply a limitation of the PB570 and there isn't much I can reliably do about it. I should really add a warning about this though.

For the record, all the PCI boards have limitations here - the SiS496/497 and Premiere/PCI are limited to three devices total, PB520R supports 3 devices + onboard graphics, while the Advanced/EV, Advanced/ZP and 430VX clone support four.

jznomoney
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat 06 Dec, 2014 9:11 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by jznomoney » Sat 24 Feb, 2018 12:58 pm

SarahWalker wrote:
Sat 24 Feb, 2018 9:44 am
Should also add this, before anyone stumbles into it by accident!

The PB570 BIOS only seems to support 2 PCI cards - the PIIX chip supports 4 devices, one of which is taken by the onboard graphics. This should leave three slots, however the BIOS seems to screw up IRQ mapping for the third slot so in practice it doesn't work. From what I can see, the real machines with this board only ever had two PCI slots so this was never an issue.

For PCem, what this means is that if you had more than two PCI devices - say, an AudioPCI, a PCI network card and a Voodoo card - only two of them will actually appear to be present. This is simply a limitation of the PB570 and there isn't much I can reliably do about it. I should really add a warning about this though.

For the record, all the PCI boards have limitations here - the SiS496/497 and Premiere/PCI are limited to three devices total, PB520R supports 3 devices + onboard graphics, while the Advanced/EV, Advanced/ZP and 430VX clone support four.
I never had a packard bell based on a Hillary motherboard but I did have on based on the pb600. If its similar to that it required a riser card for the expansion slots. Mine had 2 isa and one pci on the riser card. I do remember borrowing on of my friends packard bell riser cards that had more pci slots and it worked on my pb600 motherboard. Sarah was the Hillary anything like that?

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by SarahWalker » Sat 24 Feb, 2018 1:39 pm

Nope. Confusingly, PB570, 570, 590, 620, 630 and 650 are all basically the same Hillary design, with the same BIOS. PB600 is different, based on a VLSI chipset rather than an Intel one.

jznomoney
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat 06 Dec, 2014 9:11 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by jznomoney » Sat 24 Feb, 2018 1:41 pm

SarahWalker wrote:
Sat 24 Feb, 2018 1:39 pm
Nope. Confusingly, PB570, 570, 590, 620, 630 and 650 are all basically the same Hillary design, with the same BIOS. PB600 is different, based on a VLSI chipset rather than an Intel one.
I know they are different I just meant does the hillard board use a riser card for the expansion slots?

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by SarahWalker » Sat 24 Feb, 2018 2:03 pm

Yes, I believe it does.

jznomoney
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat 06 Dec, 2014 9:11 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by jznomoney » Sat 24 Feb, 2018 2:09 pm

SarahWalker wrote:
Sat 24 Feb, 2018 2:03 pm
Yes, I believe it does.
Ok. Well if it does my pb600 which was in a Packard bell c110 had a riser card with 1 PCI slot and 2 ISA Slots. My friend had a packard bell that had a riser card that had more pci slots than the one mine had and it worked in my packard bell just fine. So would the riser card plugged in change how many pci slots the hillard could support?

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by SarahWalker » Sat 24 Feb, 2018 2:30 pm

No - it's a limitation of both motherboard and BIOS.

jznomoney
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat 06 Dec, 2014 9:11 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by jznomoney » Sat 24 Feb, 2018 9:21 pm

I keep getting a crash on pcem with the pb570 board. It happened a few times with the original merge and after the pci bus fixes.
I start the machine it post but when it goes to boot it crashes. It seems to happen when certain cdrom images are mounted at boot.
I get the error in the pcem log "Device failed to request command" that is the only line in the log as well.

I also tried with removing any expansion cards ie soundblaster and rtl8029as. I just left the hard drive and cdrom.

here is my config.


gameblaster = 0
gus = 0
ssi2001 = 0
voodoo = 0
model = pb570
cpu_manufacturer = 0
cpu = 4
cpu_use_dynarec = 1
cpu_waitstates = 0
gfxcard = cl_gd5429
video_speed = -1
sndcard = sbpci128
cpu_speed = 0
has_fpu = 0
disc_a = D:\Emulators\pcem\drivers\ndishotfix98.IMA
disc_b =
hdd_controller = ide
mem_size = 16384
cdrom_drive = 200
cdrom_enabled = 1
cdrom_channel = 1
cdrom_path = G:\Downloads\Downloads\Packard Bell Master CD.iso
zip_channel = -1
hdc_sectors = 63
hdc_heads = 16
hdc_cylinders = 2048
hdc_fn = D:\Emulators\pcem\pb570.img
hdd_sectors = 0
hdd_heads = 0
hdd_cylinders = 0
hdd_fn =
hde_sectors = 0
hde_heads = 0
hde_cylinders = 0
hde_fn =
hdf_sectors = 0
hdf_heads = 0
hdf_cylinders = 0
hdf_fn =
drive_a_type = 7
drive_b_type = 7
bpb_disable = 0
joystick_type = 0
mouse_type = 3
enable_sync = 1
netcard = rtl8029as
lpt1_device = none
vid_resize = 0
video_fullscreen_scale = 0
video_fullscreen_first = 1

[Joysticks]
joystick_0_nr = 0
joystick_1_nr = 0

[SDL2]
screenshot_format = png
screenshot_flash = 1
custom_width = 640
custom_height = 480
fullscreen = 0
fullscreen_mode = 0
scale = 1
scale_mode = 1
vsync = 0
focus_dim = 0
alternative_update_lock = 0
render_driver = auto

[GL3]
input_scale = 1.000000
input_stretch = 0
shader_refresh_rate = 0.000000

[GL3 Shaders]
shaders = 0

EluanCM
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue 27 Oct, 2015 2:07 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by EluanCM » Sat 24 Feb, 2018 10:36 pm

jznomoney wrote:
Sat 24 Feb, 2018 9:21 pm
I start the machine it post but when it goes to boot it crashes. It seems to happen when certain cdrom images are mounted at boot.
I can confirm that this happened to me some time ago with the install CD of a linux distro, mounted at POST = crash in various AMI bioses for Pentium. Forgot the report.

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: [Patch] Packard Bell Legend 300SX

Post by SarahWalker » Sun 25 Feb, 2018 9:08 pm

jznomoney wrote:
Sat 24 Feb, 2018 9:21 pm
I keep getting a crash on pcem with the pb570 board. It happened a few times with the original merge and after the pci bus fixes.
I start the machine it post but when it goes to boot it crashes. It seems to happen when certain cdrom images are mounted at boot.
I get the error in the pcem log "Device failed to request command" that is the only line in the log as well.
When you say 'when it goes to boot' - is this before the OS is loaded? How are the boot options set in the BIOS - is the system set to boot from CD-ROM?

Post Reply