Unexplained Slowdown?

Support and general discussion.
Post Reply
User avatar
CryptidWorks
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri 26 Apr, 2019 7:11 am

Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by CryptidWorks » Fri 26 Apr, 2019 7:50 am

I'm running Windows 98 SE with these settings

https://imgur.com/a/sYbncSt

My CPU is an i5-6600k@4.2Ghz and sometimes I get weird slowdown that seems unrelated to my hardware usage as seen here by the CPU barely being used in this screen where it happens. It causes weird audio stuttering whenever it occurs.

Image

User avatar
dreamer
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed 28 Dec, 2016 11:56 am

Re: Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by dreamer » Fri 26 Apr, 2019 12:35 pm

Your screenshot doesn't show the titlebar of the PCEm window. In there a percentage is displayed. That percentage shows how much of the expected performance you are able to reach. If you see 100% that means PCEm is able to run full speed, and the performance matches the machine. If it is lower than 100 (something like 80, 60), then the performance of your PC might be the bottleneck.

What percentage does the window show when not in fullscreen?

User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 725
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by omarsis81 » Fri 26 Apr, 2019 2:20 pm

Wait and try again with the new version 15
It should be released next month

PS: What game is it?

User avatar
CryptidWorks
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri 26 Apr, 2019 7:11 am

Re: Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by CryptidWorks » Fri 26 Apr, 2019 11:37 pm

dreamer wrote:
Fri 26 Apr, 2019 12:35 pm
Your screenshot doesn't show the titlebar of the PCEm window. In there a percentage is displayed. That percentage shows how much of the expected performance you are able to reach. If you see 100% that means PCEm is able to run full speed, and the performance matches the machine. If it is lower than 100 (something like 80, 60), then the performance of your PC might be the bottleneck.

What percentage does the window show when not in fullscreen?
It's indeed showing actual slowdown of the emulator in the scenes that are stuttering

Image

User avatar
CryptidWorks
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri 26 Apr, 2019 7:11 am

Re: Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by CryptidWorks » Fri 26 Apr, 2019 11:38 pm

omarsis81 wrote:
Fri 26 Apr, 2019 2:20 pm
Wait and try again with the new version 15
It should be released next month

PS: What game is it?
Titanic: Adventure out of Time. Version 1.0 from an original retail disc.

Cheez
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue 19 Dec, 2017 4:08 am

Re: Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by Cheez » Sat 27 Apr, 2019 4:59 am

I had something like this once that only occurred during CD reads (image or real discs) and the only solution I ended up finding was creating a new machine profile from scratch and attaching my existing hard drive images so I didn't have to reinstall everything. I doubt the same would work for you because I had a unique situation that I don't quite remember the details of.

User avatar
CryptidWorks
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri 26 Apr, 2019 7:11 am

Re: Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by CryptidWorks » Sat 27 Apr, 2019 6:42 am

Just to make this weirder dropping down to 166Mhz CPU seems to have fixed it? There seems to be some kind of issue on my end emulating fast CPUs. The Issue isn't totally fixed and I still get some small stutters when data is being loaded from the discs but it's not remaining at partial speed anymore.

Image


Any ideas? I have a Skylake clocked at 4.2Ghz so I shouldn't be having issues with even the highest end CPU.

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1726
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by SarahWalker » Sat 27 Apr, 2019 7:50 am

CryptidWorks wrote:
Sat 27 Apr, 2019 6:42 am
Any ideas? I have a Skylake clocked at 4.2Ghz so I shouldn't be having issues with even the highest end CPU.
You're clearly new here :)

seth
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue 14 Mar, 2017 12:13 pm

Re: Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by seth » Sat 27 Apr, 2019 9:55 am

Image

:mrgreen:

szadycbr
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon 21 Nov, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by szadycbr » Sat 27 Apr, 2019 10:51 am

ha ha ha :)

User avatar
CryptidWorks
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri 26 Apr, 2019 7:11 am

Re: Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by CryptidWorks » Sat 27 Apr, 2019 8:38 pm

SarahWalker wrote:
Sat 27 Apr, 2019 7:50 am
CryptidWorks wrote:
Sat 27 Apr, 2019 6:42 am
Any ideas? I have a Skylake clocked at 4.2Ghz so I shouldn't be having issues with even the highest end CPU.
You're clearly new here :)
Clearly because the system requirements are like a 4xxx class clocked over 4Ghz.

What am I missing?

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1726
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by SarahWalker » Sat 27 Apr, 2019 8:39 pm

PCem is generally considered to not be very fast. You are very far from the first person to make this observation.

User avatar
CryptidWorks
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri 26 Apr, 2019 7:11 am

Re: Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by CryptidWorks » Sat 27 Apr, 2019 8:41 pm

SarahWalker wrote:
Sat 27 Apr, 2019 8:39 pm
PCem is generally considered to not be very fast. You are very far from the first person to make this observation.
I understand that but I still have to think the issue is me doing something wrong in this case because I've seen people with slower chips managing to run it without stuttering judging from reports on the forums.

User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 1726
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by SarahWalker » Sat 27 Apr, 2019 9:10 pm

It's very dependent on what you're trying to run on it. And the games/applications that run slowly are never what you'd expect.

User avatar
CryptidWorks
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri 26 Apr, 2019 7:11 am

Re: Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by CryptidWorks » Sat 27 Apr, 2019 10:11 pm

SarahWalker wrote:
Sat 27 Apr, 2019 9:10 pm
It's very dependent on what you're trying to run on it. And the games/applications that run slowly are never what you'd expect.
Makes sense.

Hopefully Version 15 increases performance a bit.

Katakis
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu 05 Mar, 2015 6:42 am

Re: Unexplained Slowdown?

Post by Katakis » Fri 24 May, 2019 9:40 am

For some reason, I have the same problem in PCem. Managed to fix that by quitting and re-starting the emulator.

Post Reply