Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Support and general discussion.
Post Reply
Solstar82
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 12 May, 2016 9:19 am

Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by Solstar82 »

Itried to run interstate 76 nitro edition, using the glide command, but when I run it, it just crashes on desktop with a message that i can't read (but i know its there because i hear the windows default chime

if i run it withoutthe glide command, games runs ok but its unbearably slow
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 867
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by omarsis81 »

without Glide would mean Software rendering, right?
Solstar82
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 12 May, 2016 9:19 am

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by Solstar82 »

omarsis81 wrote:without Glide would mean Software rendering, right?
yes, in that case the game runs .."fine",as in "it runs", but its excruciatingly slow
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 867
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by omarsis81 »

I can try to run the game on real hardware to confirm is a PCem bug, but it I don't think it can be before the next weekend
Solstar82
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 12 May, 2016 9:19 am

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by Solstar82 »

omarsis81 wrote:I can try to run the game on real hardware to confirm is a PCem bug, but it I don't think it can be before the next weekend
no prob, thanks in advance
User avatar
leilei
Posts: 806
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by leilei »

Cannot reproduce (with either card)
Attachments
Voodoo Graphics
Voodoo Graphics
pcemi76nv1.jpg (58.5 KiB) Viewed 7388 times
Voodoo2
Voodoo2
pcemi76nv2.jpg (55.73 KiB) Viewed 7388 times
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 867
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by omarsis81 »

maybe is driver's issues.
What OS are you using Solstar82? Driver? Did you install the requiered DX for this game?
Solstar82
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 12 May, 2016 9:19 am

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by Solstar82 »

omarsis81 wrote:maybe is driver's issues.
What OS are you using Solstar82? Driver? Did you install the requiered DX for this game?
i'm using windows 98, non se edition.i installed the required dx for the game. i managed to get ahold of a screen to seethe proper error.and here it is
here's the error
here's the error
Capture.PNG (9.34 KiB) Viewed 7226 times
http://imgur.com/a/wclqx
Attachments
main config
main config
ww.PNG (14.42 KiB) Viewed 7226 times
here's my 3dfx version
here's my 3dfx version
435345.PNG (41.1 KiB) Viewed 7226 times
Solstar82
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 12 May, 2016 9:19 am

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by Solstar82 »

http://imgur.com/a/wclqx this is the voodoo 2 config
tr.StEalTH
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun 12 Feb, 2017 5:58 pm

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by tr.StEalTH »

try unchecking the screen filter on the voodoo. Maybe reinstall opengl, make sure its like 80-60mb.
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 867
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by omarsis81 »

That happened to me once when I had a Voodoo1 and then installed Voodoo2 and viceversa. Try uninstalling the old drivers, or reinstall Windows 98.
Apparently the game works fine in PCem
Solstar82
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 12 May, 2016 9:19 am

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by Solstar82 »

reinstalling win 98 is out of question

how can i install only the opengl as tr.StEalTH said, or to uninstall the old drivers?
User avatar
leilei
Posts: 806
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by leilei »

"disable filter" and "reinstall opengl" are blind advice as they have nothing to do with the Glide driver not finding the card it's programmed for.

Reinstall your Voodoo2 drivers. The error message shows the Glide2x.dll from the V1 drivers is still there and should be replaced with V2's. Delete your Voodoo2 card from device manager and it should ask to reinstall the drivers again.

The same applies with the real thing so it's no pcem bug!
tr.StEalTH
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun 12 Feb, 2017 5:58 pm

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by tr.StEalTH »

Reinstalling opengl would in turn reinstall the Voodoo drivers.
Solstar82
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 12 May, 2016 9:19 am

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by Solstar82 »

leilei wrote:"disable filter" and "reinstall opengl" are blind advice as they have nothing to do with the Glide driver not finding the card it's programmed for.

Reinstall your Voodoo2 drivers. The error message shows the Glide2x.dll from the V1 drivers is still there and should be replaced with V2's. Delete your Voodoo2 card from device manager and it should ask to reinstall the drivers again.

The same applies with the real thing so it's no pcem bug!
uninstalled. The device results as Voodoo 2 dx7 beta 1.0 in System\devices

when i choose detect new hardware,it wil lsay that it has detected again Voodoo 2 dx7 beta 1.0,it will install the drivers (possibly the same),reboot..nothing changed..same issue

do i need to put a custom drvier?
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 867
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by omarsis81 »

What's the need of using a beta driver?
Try last reference driver
http://falconfly.vogonswiki.com/downloa ... -30202.zip
Solstar82
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 12 May, 2016 9:19 am

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by Solstar82 »

omarsis81 wrote:What's the need of using a beta driver?
Try last reference driver
http://falconfly.vogonswiki.com/downloa ... -30202.zip
ok..

1)uninstalled previous driver
2)rebooted
3)device found,pointed it at the driver you just linked
4)rebooted
5)....same issue.

I ran out of ideas on what to do.other 3dfx games like quake 2 etc run perfectly fine, this is the only 3dfx game that is giving me headaches.

don't know if maybe i 'm doing somethign wrong with the exe itself..i don't have a glide executable, but the normal one,and i read onlien to put the "-glide" extension in the shortcut command
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 867
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by omarsis81 »

are you still getting the "expected Voodoo, none detected" error when Windows starts?
I had the same problem, but I solved it easly like I told before. Uninstalled the previous driver, extracted the new V2 driver in a temp folder, then go to My PC, Properties, devices, I locate the Voodoo2 and select the "have disk" option, then I browse to the temp folder I extracted before
szadycbr
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon 21 Nov, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by szadycbr »

i might be wrong but as far as i remember, the 3dfx display panel will be visible even if driver is wrong or none. You can delete this panel from uninstall programs in control panel, it will be shown as a 3dfx voodoo driver, or something like that , dont forget to uninstall it.
and dont forget to chose right voodoo in PCem,
omarsis81 and leilei advice is right on the spot ,he he. Take care .
User avatar
leilei
Posts: 806
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by leilei »

Failing driver installation, delete glide2x.dll from your i76 directory. It shouldn't be there normally, ever. (I can only imagine a pirate repack doing this for some "working fixed dosbox daum version" rather ignorantly)
Solstar82
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 12 May, 2016 9:19 am

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by Solstar82 »

leilei wrote:Failing driver installation, delete glide2x.dll from your i76 directory. It shouldn't be there normally, ever. (I can only imagine a pirate repack doing this for some "working fixed dosbox daum version" rather ignorantly)
that's the problem..is nto a pirated version or anything, is the version that came from the cd i had back in the day.i never owned the original i76, only this, the nitro expansion, but i remember that there was an autorun sort of menu that told you to choose between direct3d,3dfx and software

ok i'll try and delete the glide from the folde
Solstar82
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 12 May, 2016 9:19 am

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by Solstar82 »

omarsis81 wrote:are you still getting the "expected Voodoo, none detected" error when Windows starts?
I had the same problem, but I solved it easly like I told before. Uninstalled the previous driver, extracted the new V2 driver in a temp folder, then go to My PC, Properties, devices, I locate the Voodoo2 and select the "have disk" option, then I browse to the temp folder I extracted before
yep that's exactly what i did.for "Uninstalling previous driver", i simply went to control panel, multimedia devices, and uninstalled the voodoo 2 from there

unless you're talking about those program that delete drivers specifically
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 867
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by omarsis81 »

So, does it work now?
tr.StEalTH
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun 12 Feb, 2017 5:58 pm

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by tr.StEalTH »

I could be beating the mule here, but glsetup gives you a working video environment with a few clicks. Skip all the go online for updates, add email whatnot, and if you mess up just run it again... I packed glsetupb into an iso https://ufile.io/hzydy
Solstar82
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 12 May, 2016 9:19 am

Re: Interstate 76 nitro pack crashes to desktop if run with glide

Post by Solstar82 »

tr.StEalTH wrote:I could be beating the mule here, but glsetup gives you a working video environment with a few clicks. Skip all the go online for updates, add email whatnot, and if you mess up just run it again... I packed glsetupb into an iso https://ufile.io/hzydy
thanks i'll try it now

omarsis81: no same issue as before, nothing changed
Post Reply