linux: no network?

Support and general discussion.
Post Reply
legluondunet
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 12 Apr, 2016 10:50 pm

linux: no network?

Post by legluondunet »

Hello,

I just compiled PCEM today on Linux Ubuntu 17.10.
At first it was a little difficult for me to understand how to compile it: the configure is in a folder, create two Makefile files, one in the same folder as configure, the other one in the src folder:

Code: Select all

configure: creating ./config.status
config.status: creating Makefile
config.status: creating src/Makefile
config.status: executing depfiles commands
But finally I have to use another Makefile to complete compilation: Makefile.linux64 or Makefile.linux64-wx-sdl2.
My first question:
this command does nothing as I don't use aim Makefile to compile PCEM?
./configure --prefix=/usr --enable-networking --enable-wx
2nd question and the most important:
Why the Networking feature is disabled in the Linux version? Or how to enable it?

Thank you for your lights.
User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 2054
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: linux: no network?

Post by SarahWalker »

legluondunet wrote:Hello,

I just compiled PCEM today on Linux Ubuntu 17.10.
At first it was a little difficult for me to understand how to compile it: the configure is in a folder, create two Makefile files, one in the same folder as configure, the other one in the src folder:

Code: Select all

configure: creating ./config.status
config.status: creating Makefile
config.status: creating src/Makefile
config.status: executing depfiles commands
But finally I have to use another Makefile to complete compilation: Makefile.linux64 or Makefile.linux64-wx-sdl2.
You shouldn't have to use those Makefiles. Just ignore them.

./configure --prefix=/usr --enable-networking --enable-wx
make

should be all you need to do.
legluondunet
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 12 Apr, 2016 10:50 pm

Re: linux: no network?

Post by legluondunet »

You shouldn't have to use those Makefiles. Just ignore them.
I would like to ignore them, but...

Makefile.linux64 --> compilation OK but no network
Makefile.linux64-wx-sdl2 --> compilation OK but no network
Makefile generated by configure in the same folder as configure: compilation error

configure result:
https://pastebin.com/j5YXpwRX
make result:
https://pastebin.com/bqDvJnkV

the error:

Code: Select all

make[1]: ***  Aucune règle pour fabriquer la cible « dac.c », nécessaire pour « pcem-dac.o ». Arrêt.
means "no rule to make dac.c needed by pcem-dac.o"

Do you know why I obtained this compilation error?
User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 2054
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: linux: no network?

Post by SarahWalker »

Try running automake and autoconf, then re-run ./configure
legluondunet
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 12 Apr, 2016 10:50 pm

Re: linux: no network?

Post by legluondunet »

Now that I have a PCEM build with networking enabled, I just read all the Networking discussion and added this lines to my WIndows 95 pcem config file:

Code: Select all

netcard = ne2000
netinterface = 1
netcard = 1
net_type = 1

Code: Select all

[Novell NE2000]
netcard = 1
addr = 768
irq = 10
Windows 95 installed the network card but still no network.
So I installed TCP IP protocol and configured it as explained in the networking discussion:

Code: Select all

ip 10.0.2.15
mask 255.255.255.0
gateway 10.0.2.2
DNS 10.0.2.3
still no network :(

I have no more idea :(
legluondunet
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 12 Apr, 2016 10:50 pm

Re: linux: no network?

Post by legluondunet »

news: internet OK with W98 but not with W95, same network config for both.
On windows 98 I haven't configured the TC/IP protocol, it just work!
User avatar
ruben_balea
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon 08 May, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain

Re: linux: no network?

Post by ruben_balea »

This happened to me:
Both Windows 95 setup and the add new hardware applet will detect the correct card model and on device manager it appears normal (without a warning icon) but if you open properties->resources may have unnotified resource conflicts.
Even if there are no conflicts see if the IRQ and I/O are the same as in PCem config. Most times there's no IRQ assigned :?:
Uncheck automatic configuration and enter by hand the same IRQ and I/O as in PCem config, shutdown Windows 95, close PCem and start again.
If the IRQ is in use by a serial or printer port that you don't need simply remove that port and if you're emulating a Plug and Play machine after reboot enter BIOS->Integrated peripherals and disable that port also or Windows 95 will reinstall them on next reboot.
Last edited by ruben_balea on Thu 19 Oct, 2017 7:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ruben_balea
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon 08 May, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain

Re: linux: no network?

Post by ruben_balea »

I didn't tried Windows 98 but Windows ME on the same machine, it's a full setup after fromatting Windows 95 so all settings are new, on NE2000 resources automatic configuration is grayed out and not in use, internet works also without doing anything.

This makes me to suspect even more about the automatic configuration of W95 :?
Attachments
ne2000.png
ne2000.png (58.79 KiB) Viewed 9167 times
User avatar
ruben_balea
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon 08 May, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain

Re: linux: no network?

Post by ruben_balea »

I've edited the other post because I wrote DMA in place of IRQ and IRQ in place of I/O address. :oops:
legluondunet
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 12 Apr, 2016 10:50 pm

Re: linux: no network?

Post by legluondunet »

By default the network card is configured on irq 3. I rectified to irq 10 both on WIndows 98 and WIndows 95.
But this is not enough to obtain internet on Windows 95.

The IRQ and I/O Address are identic and conform to my pcem config file.

Image

Image
User avatar
ruben_balea
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon 08 May, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain

Re: linux: no network?

Post by ruben_balea »

Hi, excuse me for taking so long to reply, I had forgotten about this thread ...
After switching to IRQ10, did you try to configure TCP/IP manually?
DHCP in Windows 95 under PCem always give me errors and no connection at all.

ip 10.0.2.15
mask 255.255.255.0
W95_IP_Netmask.png
W95_IP_Netmask.png (149.03 KiB) Viewed 9122 times
gateway 10.0.2.2
W95_Gateway.png
W95_Gateway.png (147.9 KiB) Viewed 9122 times
DNS 10.0.2.3 (You must specify a host name to add DNS, I simply put "x" there)
W95_DNS.png
W95_DNS.png (148.31 KiB) Viewed 9122 times
legluondunet
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 12 Apr, 2016 10:50 pm

Re: linux: no network?

Post by legluondunet »

Thank you for your help.
After uninstalled network card, reintalled it with the good irq, it finally works without to specify any DNS or Gateway.
Next step: play games :)
Post Reply