3DNow!

Support and general discussion.
Post Reply
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 867
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

3DNow!

Post by omarsis81 »

I always wanted to try the Quake patch that optimised the game for 3DNow! So,last night I timedemoed Quake 2 vanilla with a K6-II @ 266 and a single Voodoo2 with latest official drivers and Windows 98Se, it gave me 31.8 fps

I'm not sure what was that patch, but I managed to get 3.10 version patch and retimedemoed with the same specs, now it gave 43.6 fps.
Massive difference! So, I bet that 3.10 version patch was the one that optimsed the game for 3DNow!

I'm so happy and glad to know Sarah emulated these instructions perfectly!
Tell me, was that (adding the 3DNow! instructions) the most diffiult part of implementing the K6 series?
Attachments
opt.gif
opt.gif (799 Bytes) Viewed 1958 times
User avatar
leilei
Posts: 806
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: 3DNow!

Post by leilei »

The 3dnow! version of Q2 should be a separately obtained special v3.20 version and should display a disclaimer baked into the console background (as well as changing the names of the selectable renderers). Offiical Q2 patches are not 3dnow! optimized, and Q2 3.10 predates 3dnow (Jan 1998).
User avatar
omarsis81
Posts: 867
Joined: Thu 17 Dec, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: 3DNow!

Post by omarsis81 »

Oh I see! Why do I get 12 fps difference with the same config? Maybe 3.10 made other improvements but not with 3DNow! I will try to get that v3.20 you mention. Thanks
User avatar
leilei
Posts: 806
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: 3DNow!

Post by leilei »

Most likely the FPS gain's from the post-launch work on ref_gl.dll. Quake2 was not very multitexture optimized at 3.05's launch, and the Voodoo2 wasn't out yet (though, Carmack did have a pre-production V2 board in Jan '98)
Post Reply