Windows XP no sound

Support and general discussion.
Techguy1

Windows XP no sound

Post by Techguy1 »

Hi guys
I'm new to PCem. Wanted to do what I did as a child, playing Lego games on our Windows XP machine. Followed this guide: https://tasvideos.org/EmulatorResources ... igurations, and it seemed to work. However, I cant get any sound. I've tried different things. Different Sound driver when configured the VM, Installed XP Home Edition SP2 instead of SP3 and tried unplug my HDMI monitor. Nothing of the above works. Any ideas? My config: https://pastebin.com/EZaA2L36. My host is Windows 11, i5 9300H.
eddman

Re: Windows XP no sound

Post by eddman »

Which lego games, exactly?

If these were released after XP came out and are compatible with it, you should be able to make them work on windows 11 itself with minimal tweaking, without using PCem.

If they are pre-XP games, use Windows 98 SE instead.

There is no need to use an AWE32; that card's EMU8000 emulation is incomplete anyway. Select the Sound Blaster 16.
Last edited by eddman on Sat 18 Mar, 2023 6:06 pm, edited 3 times in total.
MagikGimp

Post by MagikGimp »

Series:Lego
From PCGamingWiki, the wiki about fixing PC games

https://www.pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/Series:Lego
Techguy1

Post by Techguy1 »

eddman wrote: Sat 18 Mar, 2023 11:37 am Which lego games, exactly?

If these were released after XP came out and are compatible with it, you should be able to make them work on windows 11 itself with minimal tweaking, without using PCem.

If they are pre-XP games, use Windows 98 SE instead.

There is no need to use an AWE32; that card's EMU8000 emulation is incomplete anyway. Select the Sound Blaster 16.
Both games that came out around the XP era, but also before. I am from 1995, so that might give you an idea. Tried that soundcard too, still no sound. Configured a Win2000 instead. Same issue, same soundcard. Might just tweak the games to Win11. Just wanted the optimal feeling of the games. And nostalgic too.