Autostart from autoexec.bat

Support and general discussion.
Post Reply
OSH
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 11 May, 2016 11:09 pm

Autostart from autoexec.bat

Post by OSH »

Hi, I have problem...
I want to start Microsoft Flight Simulator 5.1 directl7y after system load (from autoexec.bat). I installed game, but when I put "fs5.com X" on the end of autoexec.bat, game don't start, I see only prompt. And I don't know, what I'm doing wrong. Norton Commander can be started in this way, but MSFS can't....

Code: Select all

@REM ===== PPLT INITIALIZATION ==========
;@SET PROPATS=C:\GUSINSTA\PPL160
@REM ===== PPLT INITIALIZATION ENDS =====
C:\QEMM\LOADHI /R:2 /LO C:\DOS\SMARTDRV.EXE /X
@ECHO OFF
PROMPT $p$g
PATH C:\QEMM;C:\DOS
rem mscdex.exe /d:banana /L:D
C:\QEMM\LOADHI /R:1 C:\MOUSE.COM
SET TEMP=C:\DOS
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5
REM set ultradir=c:\ultrasnd
REM SET ULTRASND=240,7,7,7,7
REM C:\ULTRASND\ULTRINIT
C:\MSFS5.1\fs5.com x
User avatar
leilei
Posts: 1039
Joined: Fri 25 Apr, 2014 4:47 pm

Re: Autostart from autoexec.bat

Post by leilei »

You could probably add a CD MSFS5.1 in there.

Games aren't shell apps. They expect to be run from their working directory.
OSH
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 11 May, 2016 11:09 pm

Re: Autostart from autoexec.bat

Post by OSH »

I know, I add this CD MSFS 5.1, but this didn't help...
User avatar
gen_angry
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat 25 Feb, 2017 6:48 am

Re: Autostart from autoexec.bat

Post by gen_angry »

OSH wrote: Mon 26 Mar, 2018 1:28 pm I know, I add this CD MSFS 5.1, but this didn't help...
If that's ad verbatim, you can't have spaces in DOS folders.

delete:

Code: Select all

C:\MSFS5.1\fs5.com x
add:

Code: Select all

cd\MSFS5.1
fs5.com x
to the last line of your autoexec.bat file. Assuming the path/folder name and command file name is correct, it should launch.
szadycbr
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon 21 Nov, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Autostart from autoexec.bat

Post by szadycbr »

what is the "X" for?
OSH
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 11 May, 2016 11:09 pm

Re: Autostart from autoexec.bat

Post by OSH »

Unfortunately didn't help... no, I haven't space in the directory name. I changed this name to MSFS...
I don't know, what X is...
terub56
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2017 12:31 pm

Re: Autostart from autoexec.bat

Post by terub56 »

Could be a problem of QEMM?
Have you tried memmaker?
OSH
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 11 May, 2016 11:09 pm

Re: Autostart from autoexec.bat

Post by OSH »

Well, no, but if I disable QEMM the situation is still the same.
szadycbr
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon 21 Nov, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Autostart from autoexec.bat

Post by szadycbr »

OSH delete that x , if its in the file name then change it as well, delete it. btw. what does dos prompt say? go into game directory and run exact command with the x and look what prompt is saying.
OSH
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 11 May, 2016 11:09 pm

Re: Autostart from autoexec.bat

Post by OSH »

If i go into game directory and type fs5.com x (or without X), then game starts normally. Problem is, I can't start this game directly from autoexec.bat.
terub56
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2017 12:31 pm

Re: Autostart from autoexec.bat

Post by terub56 »

CALL should only work witch batch files, but as a test try:
call C:\MSFS5.1\fs5.com x
OSH
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 11 May, 2016 11:09 pm

Re: Autostart from autoexec.bat

Post by OSH »

Finally, thanks guy from DOSBOX forum I found cause...
https://imgur.com/a/Xn7C1
This is my config.sys. The cause was this small arrow behind ULTRINIT in autoexec.bat. I can't even reproduce this sign, so I give screenshot with config.sys. When I deleted it, MSFS finally starts normally.
Thanks for help!
Post Reply