[BUG] broken OPL3 with SB16/AWE32 using mixerset

Support and general discussion.
Post Reply
basic2004
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun 08 Jan, 2017 5:59 pm

[BUG] broken OPL3 with SB16/AWE32 using mixerset

Post by basic2004 » Thu 19 Apr, 2018 3:13 am

This bug appears since PCem 13.1 and current development version, only SB16/AWE32 using mixerset.
This issue didn't appear when didn't load mixerset or using SB Pro 2.

1. I found this issue after playing 'Sango Fighter'.
Exit this game to DOS and play any game using Adlib or Sound Blaster music, or playing Adlib music player.
This issue appears when restarting this game too.

2. I found when playing 'YS2 Special'.
Stopped music when starting field (out from beginning town)
Music playing only pressing Alt key (Attack button).

My mixerset setting is here, for audio playback balances with other programs before implemented PCem's output level.
Screenshot from 2018-04-19 11-52-42.png
Screenshot from 2018-04-19 11-52-42.png (50.79 KiB) Viewed 2046 times
loading mixerset in my autoexec.bat

Code: Select all

mixerset /p /q
If skip this code, plays OPL3 correctly.

JosepMa
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue 20 Jun, 2017 6:25 pm

Re: [BUG] broken OPL3 with SB16/AWE32 using mixerset

Post by JosepMa » Thu 19 Apr, 2018 7:43 pm

While it doesn't have a direct relation with your problem, I would suggest not to use 4x output amplification, and in case you need that much amplification, use PCem's new output level that you can find in the Sound menu.
The soundblaster hardware amplification can cause clipping on the sound before it goes out from PCem.

Also, why does the screen look that bad? did you open it from inside Windows or what? You shouldn't have the DOS drivers when using Windows 9x.
mixerset.jpg
mixerset.jpg (220.4 KiB) Viewed 1992 times

EluanCM
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue 27 Oct, 2015 2:07 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: [BUG] broken OPL3 with SB16/AWE32 using mixerset

Post by EluanCM » Thu 19 Apr, 2018 10:03 pm

It looks like that because of a different codepage, this was a common problem for non-USA users

basic2004
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun 08 Jan, 2017 5:59 pm

Re: [BUG] broken OPL3 with SB16/AWE32 using mixerset

Post by basic2004 » Fri 20 Apr, 2018 2:12 am

Thanks for your suggestion. but this needs a notice for clipping.
JosepMa wrote:
Thu 19 Apr, 2018 7:43 pm
Also, why does the screen look that bad? did you open it from inside Windows or what? You shouldn't have the DOS drivers when using Windows 9x.
I installed Japanese MS-DOS 6.2 in my PCem but didn't load Japanese font driver.

Post Reply