FPU emulation

Support and general discussion.
Post Reply
BurnedPinguin
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue 28 May, 2019 6:10 pm

FPU emulation

Post by BurnedPinguin »

Is there any way to enable FPUs on certain CPUs? I've looked around, and I haven't even seen an answer to this
User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 2053
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: FPU emulation

Post by SarahWalker »

No. Currently FPU is only emulated on 486DX and later CPUs.
Keatah
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun 14 Jun, 2020 7:29 am

Re: FPU emulation

Post by Keatah »

PCem doesn't run intel's co-processor diagnostics. MCPDIAG.exe. Is this something that may be fixed in a future release?
https://archive.org/details/intel387dxm ... _304833001
User avatar
ruben_balea
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon 08 May, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain

Re: FPU emulation

Post by ruben_balea »

If I remember correctly the emulated FPU is only accurate enough to make 3D games look good, so the tests included in some BIOS or diagnostic programs will show errors, spreadsheets will have errors and so on.
User avatar
SarahWalker
Site Admin
Posts: 2053
Joined: Thu 24 Apr, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: FPU emulation

Post by SarahWalker »

I'd be amazed if anyone saw spreadsheets with noticeable errors, but that's the general sentiment, yes. PCem's FPU emulation is for entertainment purposes only, it won't pass those kinds of diagnostics and don't try to do anything mission critical on it.
Post Reply