Need suggestions: Best Win98 guest that can run DX9

Support and general discussion.
sphyrch

Need suggestions: Best Win98 guest that can run DX9

Post by sphyrch »

Hi all! I recently discovered PCem as an awesome alternative to VMware and VirtualBox, and found it to be better in almost all respects. The issue is that I'm a total beginner when it comes to hardware, driver compatibility, etc., so I could use some help.

I'm trying to configure a guest that can run Win98 SE that can play 3D games like Half-Life or Max Payne. I went to the PCem github page and just picked the components that seem the most high-end to me:
Gigabyte GA-686BX machine, 3DFX Voodoo 3 3000, SoundBlaster AWE32

However, when I run dxdiag, it informs me that Direct3D is not supported. Are there any particular settings (in the machine configuration window) that I need to set up for each of these individual components? Are there external drivers that I need to install for these?

My aim is to be able to run 3dMark 2001 (or even 2003) smoothly.

EDIT: I'm trying to build a sort of max performance Windows 98 machine (up to the hardware allowed by/included in PCem). So in my naive view - HL and Max Payne were advanced 3d games for that time, hence I quoted those games. It could very well be a possibility that the hardware allowed by PCem as of now won't be able to run either or both games. Even in that case, I'd still like to build as good a Win98 machine (from a gaming/3D graphics perspective) as I can. I hope that makes sense.
Last edited by sphyrch on Mon 01 Mar, 2021 7:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
leilei

Re: Need suggestions: Best Win98 guest that can run DX9

Post by leilei »

Voodoo2/3 drivers new enough (>Nov1999) require a minimum of DirectX 7 installed to work.
sphyrch

Post by sphyrch »

leilei wrote: Fri 26 Feb, 2021 11:00 am Voodoo2/3 drivers new enough (>Nov1999) require a minimum of DirectX 7 installed to work.